Library Guides: Louisiana Information Sources: A Guide: Data & Statistics

Intro

Key resources for locating data and statistics for Louisiana.

For more, see these guides:

The following are a selection of Louisiana state agencies that provide data and statistics on their websites. This list is not exhaustive.

Louisiana Secretary of State NEW!
The redesigned Elections & Voting interface now provides results and statistics for elections, 1982-present.
Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement (LCLE)
The LCLE Statistical Analysis Center collects, analyzes, and interprets data on criminal justice issues relevant to the state and the nation.
Louisiana Crash Data Reports
A compilation of statistical data based on information obtained on traffic crashes submitted by state, sheriff, and local police agencies throughout the state of Louisiana.
Louisiana Department of Education
The Data and Reports page is a collection of public data on Louisiana’s public schools. Using this site, you can access statistical information on topics such as student demographics, course enrollment totals, finance, and student achievement.
Louisiana Environmental Data Center (LEDC)
Includes air and water quality data, and mercury levels, from the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ).
Louisiana Field Office of the NASS, USDA
State level statistics provided by the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) of the US Department of Agriculture (USDA).
Louisiana State Census Data Center
The State Data Centers (SDCs) are official sources of demographic, economic, and social statistics, and redistricting data produced by the Census Bureau.

Data.nola.gov
A catalog of public data sets produced by the City of New Orleans.
The Data Center
A trusted resource for data on Southeast Louisiana to include disaster recovery, regional economic analysis, workforce development, racial disparity indicators, blight reduction, affordable housing, and coastal population movements.
New Orleans Crime Data
Links to the Crime Map of reported criminal activity, records of 911 service calls, UCR Crime data, and information on historical records available at the New Orleans Public Library.
Orleans Parish Assessor's Office
Provides a search tool to find data on individual properties in New Orleans, including current owner, property dimensions, and land values.

United States Census Bureau
Government agency responsible for the United States Census, and for gathering national demographic and economic data. As part of the United States Department of Commerce, the Census Bureau serves as a leading source of data about America's people and economy.
Quick Facts (U.S. Census Bureau)
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more. You can select information for any city or parish in Louisiana.
American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
Helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
Population Projections (U.S. Census Bureau)
Population projections are estimates of the population for future dates. They are typically based on an estimated population consistent with the most recent decennial census and are produced using the cohort-component method.
Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE) Program
Estimates of income and poverty statistics for all school districts, counties, and states. The main objective of this program is to provide estimates of income and poverty for the administration of federal programs and the allocation of federal funds to local jurisdictions.

Decennial Census of Population and Housing This link opens in a new window
The U.S. census counts each resident of the country, where they live on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. The Constitution mandates the enumeration to determine how to apportion the House of Representatives among the states. Includes some of the census information from 1790-2010.

War on Poverty Community Profiles: Southern States (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Sourced from the Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library, the War on Poverty Community Profiles: Southern States provides analysis of poverty in America with an extensive inventory of historical data at a local level. Each profile, composed as a narrative with statistical indices, contains information showing general poverty indicators, size and composition of the poor population, and selected aspects of geography, demography, economy, and social resources. Southern states in this collection include Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Louisiana Locked Up
A datahub by the Vera Institute of Justice that provides access to parish-level data on arrests, pretrial detention, incarceration, and local spending on the criminal legal system.