News - Contemporary - Louisiana Information Sources: A Guide

Intro

This section offers access points to Louisiana newspapers and news publications with coverage from circa the 1980's to present.

For news sources that cover Louisiana, but aren't Louisiana-focused publications, see News & Newspapers Library Guide - Current News.

Nola.com Access

Tulane does not have an institutional subscription for users to log into nola.com on the website and app, but you can access all Times-Picayune and Advocate content published on nola.com via Tulane Libraries' Access World News subscription, using these links:

Today's Times-Picayune

More portals with nola.com Content

Times-Picayune Collection: 20th Century (New Orleans) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes Times-Picayune content from 1989 to the present. Allows you to search and browse full-color scans of the print editions of the Times-Picayune, as well as Web Edition articles published on nola.com.

New Orleans Advocate
Search and browse text of the New Orleans Advocate from 2011 to current issues. This database includes all content published on nola.com.
The Gambit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free alternative weekly newspaper, now part of nola.com.To search the text archive of The Gambit from 2001 to present, use this link. Print holdings from 1980- 2022 are available in the Louisiana Research Collection; use the book icon to view more information.

The Advocate Collection (Baton Rouge) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access content from Baton Rouge's major newspaper, The Advocate, from 1986 to the present, including all content published on Nola.com. The database allows for text searching and browsing issues by date.

The Advocate (Louisiana)
Use this link to access Louisiana editions of The Advocate for New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Metarie, Gretna, Donaldsonville, Zachary, and Denham Springs, Ponchatoula. The database allows you to search text and browse individual issues.

Databases with Louisiana Newspapers

Louisiana Newspapers (Newsbank-Access World News)
Search thirty-six current and ceased newspapers in digital format, from the 1980's to present. Part of Newsbank's Access World News collection.

Business News

Greater Baton Rouge Business Report
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of the Baton Rouge business scene since 1982. Click the TU icon to search text from 1986 to 2009 via ABI/Inform Complete database. Click the globe icon to visit the publication's current website.
New Orleans CityBusiness
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers New Orleans business news, including banking, health care, economic development, commercial real estate, high-tech industries, and community events. Database coverage: 1985 - present (delayed 1 week).

Political News

The Lens (New Orleans, La.)
A nonprofit, nonpartisan public-interest newsroom since 2009. Aims to engage and empower the residents of New Orleans and the Gulf Coast by providing information and analysis necessary to advocate for more accountable and just governance. Specializes in reporting on schools, land use & environment, and criminal justice issues.
Louisiana Illuminator
An independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan news organization driven by its mission to cast light on how decisions are made in Baton Rouge and how they affect the lives of everyday Louisianians,
Louisiana News - Governor's Office
Virtual newsroom from the Louisiana Governor's office.

Black Press

Louisiana Weekly
Emphasizes topics of interest to the African American community, especially in the New Orleans area and south Louisiana since 1925. Online archive 2011-present.
New Orleans Tribune
The modern New Orleans Tribune, founded in 1985, continues the legacy of its historic predecessor, among the first Black daily newspapers in the United States.
The Weekly Press (Baton Rouge)
This Black-led newspaper describes itself as "the number one minority newspaper in The Greater Baton Rouge area." It has been published for more than 40 years.
Verite News
Verite is a diverse, Black-led nonprofit news organization that launched in 2022. Its mission is "to confront the structural issues that are tearing apart the social fabric of our society, revealing and documenting the causes and impacts and engaging the community in seeking solutions."
New Orleans Data News Weekly
Over 50 years ago, Joseph “Scoop” Jones started a weekly journal that chronicled the lives of Black New Orleanians. Scoop told stories that were traditionally ignored in the mainstream news journals and papers; He focused on news and information that was quintessential to New Orleans’ African-American community. Through its crucial, breaking, and community-based story—especially during the Civil Rights Movement—Data News Weekly was dubbed “The People’s Paper”.

Spanish-Language Press

Jambalaya
A bi-lingual Spanish newspaper providing local, state and international news. Their goal is to provide news to the Hispanic population and unite businesses with the multi-cultural communities of Louisiana.
Qué Pasa
Free Spanish-language monthly focusing on art, culture and entertainment in New Orleans.
Viva Nola Magazine
VIVA NOLA Magazine is a print and digital variety publication inspired by the culture of the city of New Orleans and the great influence Spain, Latin America, and the Caribbean have had in the city of jazz. Cover stories highlight individuals of Hispanic heritage who make positive contributions to the city.
El Tiempo (New Orleans)
A bilingual, monthly newspaper born out of a need for print media targeting the local Hispanic community after hurricane Katrina. First published in May 2006.

Local New Orleans Press

The Lens (New Orleans, La.)
A nonprofit, nonpartisan public-interest newsroom since 2009. Aims to engage and empower the residents of New Orleans and the Gulf Coast by providing information and analysis necessary to advocate for more accountable and just governance. Specializes in reporting on schools, land use & environment, and criminal justice issues.
Uptown Messenger (New Orleans, La)
A local, independent online source of news, commerce and knowledge for Uptown New Orleans that had its formal launch in September 2010.
Mid-City Messenger (New Orleans, La)
A local, independent online source of news, commerce and knowledge for Mid-City New Orleans. Launched in January of 2013, it is modeled on the same neighborhood-based style of news coverage as its sibling website, UptownMessenger.com.