Library Guides: Louisiana Information Sources: A Guide: Music

Intro

Select resources for researching New Orleans and Louisiana's vibrant musical cultures.

The Amistad Research Center
Contains significant musical holdings for composer, performers, organizations, and other enterprises related to music.
Hogan Archive of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz
The collections at Hogan Archive of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz include rare sound recordings, recorded oral histories, numerous photograph collections, manuscripts, and more.
Louisiana Research Collection (LaRC), Tulane University Libraries
Collections include a wide variety of musical ephemera that documents the history of music in New Orleans.
The Historic New Orleans Collection
The Historic New Orleans Collection (THNOC) is a museum, research center, and publisher dedicated to the stewardship of the history and culture of New Orleans and the Gulf South.
New Orleans Jazz Museum
The New Orleans Jazz Museum celebrates the history of jazz, in all its forms, through dynamic interactive exhibits, multi-generational educational programming, research facilities, and engaging musical performances.
Media Services
The main access point for CDs, DVDs, and other media formats. Assistance discovering and finding music books and scores is also available from the 6th floor service desk.

Louisiana Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Louisiana's doorway to the unique cultural and historical resources of Louisiana's libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. Tulane University is a participating institution in the Louisiana Digital Library, a program of the Louisiana Digital Consortium.

Music Rising at Tulane
Music Rising at Tulane will foster national and international study through the work of K-12 educators and university scholars. The program is dedicated to the study, preservation, and the promotion of musical cultures of the Gulf South region, including the states of Louisiana, Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, and Texas, as well as the Caribbean, Latin America and the African Diaspora.
64 Parishes: Encyclopedia
64 Parishes works with writers, artists, and communities to tell stories that explore our past and reflect on our present, stories that are all about Louisiana.
NOLA Hip Hop and Bounce Archive
The NOLA Hiphop Archive was founded by Holly Hobbs in 2012. To date, the NOLA Hiphop Archive has focused on the recording and collection of digital videotaped oral histories. The collection currently contains over 40 videotaped interviews with leading hiphop and bounce artists, with new interviews added on an ongoing basis.

Folklife in Louisiana
The Louisiana Folklife Program, within the Louisiana Division of the Arts, is designed to identify, document, conserve, and present the folk cultural resources of Louisiana.
Center for Louisiana Studies - University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Research center and archives with rich holdings in Cajun and Creole folklore.

WWOZ Livewire
The WWOZ online music calendar and the read on-air WWOZ Livewire music calendar, both edited by WWOZ, consists of music listings submitted by music venues and artists within the WWOZ broadcast range in the Greater New Orleans metropolitan area.
New Orleans Festivals
A detailed, reliable festival calendar from neworleans.com.