Library Guides: Demographics, Data &amp; Statistics Library Guide: Demographics, Data & Statistics

What are "Demographics"?

Demography is defined as the statistical study of human populations, especially with reference to size and density, distribution, and vital statistics (births, marriages, deaths, etc.).

Listed on this page are primary demographic and population resources available on the web, and through the Tulane Libraries.

General U.S Demographic & Population Data

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Data.census.gov (formerly American FactFinder) is the platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

United States Census Bureau
Government agency responsible for the United States Census, and for gathering national demographic and economic data. As part of the United States Department of Commerce, the Census Bureau serves as a leading source of data about America's people and economy.
Diversity Data Project
Identifies metropolitan area indicators of diversity, opportunity, quality of life and health for various racial and ethnic population groups. Allows users to describe, profile and rank U.S. metros in terms of quality of life.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Contains cumulative historical statistics for the United States from 1789-2000.

Population Index
Database of abstracts of published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer “contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data”. It can be used to locate census tract boundary information from 1940 to the present.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Collection of statistics on demographic, economic social and other aspects of the economy and society. Also available in print. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census (Reference HA202 .S7)
U.S. Census of Population & Housing
Census of Population and Housing data present here ranges from our most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical census information available to the public.

International Demographic & Population Data

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world and for the public and private sector organizations with global operations and interests.

EuroStat
Official statistical and demographic data of the European Union. EuroStat provides the European Union with detailed statistics on the EU and candidate countries that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
International Statistical Agencies (US Census Bureau)
Complete A-Z listing of links to official government statistical data of individual countries.
ILOSTAT
Cross-country statistics on the labor market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies.
Nation Master
Database of variables for comparing countries. Provides demographic indicators covering various statistical areas. Statistics available in pie charts, scatterplots, and correlation graphs. Data is taken from public domain.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Includes content published by International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF)

UN Data
A data access system to UN databases and national data/statistics agencies.
United Nations Statistical Databases
The United Nations provides free access to over 15 UN statistical databases.

Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of the statistical abstracts from many countries that are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations are included.

Statistics & Data for the Social Sciences

Statistics & Data for the Social Sciences
by Kay P Maye Last Updated Dec 16, 2024 2777 views this year
Statistics: Latin America
by The Latin American Library Last Updated Oct 16, 2024 0 views this year
Data and Statistical Portal
by Rudolph Matas Library. Health Sciences Reference Dept. Last Updated Dec 16, 2024 1001 views this year

Demographics, Data & Statistics Library Guide

Ask Us!

What are "Demographics"?

General U.S Demographic & Population Data

International Demographic & Population Data

Statistics & Data for the Social Sciences