Tulane has a robust collection of print and e-books about Louisiana and New Orleans. Below are search tips and strategies to discover and access holdings in our collections and beyond.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowTulane Users
Tulane users have two access options:
1. Retrieve the book yourself and bring it to the circulation desk on the 1st floor of Howard-Tilton Memorial Library for check-out
Use the MAP IT button to see floor and aisle information:
2. Tulane Libraries offers a pickup service for books with an open stacks location. You need to use the same Request Delivery button to page Offsite materials and have books delivered between Howard-Tilton and Matas libraries. What this video for more details and instructions:
Non-Tulane Users
Non-Tulane users can retrieve and consult open-stacks books whenever Howard-Tilton Memorial Library is open. However, you will not be able to use the pickup service or take books outside the library building. If you need to request a book from Offsite to consult in Howard-Tilton Memorial Library, use the Offsite Depository Retrieval Form.
When searching in Tulane's Library Catalog, you'll come across rare books books in closed stacks with locations like these:
To consult these books, you will have to make an appointment with the respective archive or special collection to consult the rare item in their reading room.
| If the item location starts with... | ...go here for appointment information |
|
Jones Hall Howard-Tilton Rare Books |
Tulane University Special Collections |
| Amistad Research Center | Amistad Research Center |
| Latin American Library (Rare ____) | The Latin American Library Special Collections |
| Vorhoff Collection | Newcomb Archives and Vorhoff Collection |
