Louisiana Information Sources: A Guide

This collection includes fire insurance maps made by the Sanborn Map Company: 46 volumes of the maps are for New Orleans and cover 1876–1940s (updated through the 1960s). The two volumes for 1876 are the earliest Sanborns for New Orleans, and the only known copies. There are also 24 volumes for other cities in Louisiana and 14 volumes for cities in Mississippi.

Volumes one and two of the 1876, New Orleans, Louisiana, Sanborn Fire Insurance Atlas represent the earliest and only known copies of forty fire insurance maps for this locality and era. Originally bound in two volumes of twenty maps each, the maps feature individual city blocks in New Orleans, Louisiana. Data depicted includes where buildings were located, how they were laid out on each property, and the materials from which they were constructed. The buildings are color coded to indicate those materials, while symbols and notes provide additional information. The maps are drawn to a scale large enough to show the layouts of the buildings in considerable detail, as each map measures 27 x 36 inches.

Nearly 25,000 Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, which depict the structure and use of buildings in U.S. cities and towns. Maps will be added monthly until 2020, for a total of approximately 500,000.

Three fire insurance atlases for the city of New Orleans, Louisiana. Coverage of the Fourth District (1874 and 1877) and the Third District (1877). Collection 123 of the Southeastern Architectural Archive.

This collection includes seven fire insurance atlases that cover the 1st through 6th districts of New Orleans, Louisiana.

This collection includes one fire insurance atlas for the city of New Orleans, Louisiana, which covers the entire city at the time of 1883 and illustrates blocks with buildings of individual properties. Buildings are color coded to indicate which materials were used in their construction.

Digitized copy of the Robinson Atlas as held by the New Orleans Notarial Archive. An 1883 city map, arranged according to the city's seven municipal districts.