Library Guides: Louisiana Information Sources: A Guide: Encyclopedias

Intro

Below you'll find select encyclopedias and reference tools that will help you find background information on Louisiana and orient yourself to new research topics.

Encyclopedias & Bibliographies

64 Parishes - Encyclopedia
64 Parishes is a project of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities (LEH), a nonprofit that has partnered with communities, institutions, and individuals since 1971 to explore Louisiana’s past, reflect on its present, and imagine its future. LEH began publishing a quarterly magazine, Louisiana Cultural Vistas, in 1990. In 2008 LEH launched KnowLA, the online encyclopedia of Louisiana. 64 Parishes represents the evolution of this work, combining the encyclopedia and magazine under one title and continuing to produce engaging, well-researched information all about Louisiana.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Explore a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, background information, and translations found in encyclopedias, dictionaries, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
Oxford Research Encyclopedia articles are great for getting an overview of different historical topics, with suggestions for further reading and information on finding primary sources. The ORE of American History includes more than 100 articles that discuss Louisiana or New Orleans.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
An expert-curated guide to the most important and significant sources in several topics with editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. Tulane subscribes to the following subjects with Louisiana content: Atlantic History, American Literature, Architecture Planning & Preservation, Art History, Cinema & Media Studies, and Urban Studies.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a database that allows you to discover and access hundreds of reference books, such as encyclopedias and historical dictionaries, from high-quality publishers.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.