Louisiana's doorway to the unique cultural and historical resources of Louisiana's libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. Tulane University is a participating institution in the Louisiana Digital Library, a program of the Louisiana Digital Consortium.
The institutions whose digital collections can be discovered through the LDL are:
Amistad Research Center
Calcasieu Parish Public Library
Delgado Community College
East Baton Rouge Parish Library
Law Library of Louisiana
Louisiana State Archives
Louisiana State Museum
Louisiana State University
Louisiana State University at Alexandria
Louisiana State University at Shreveport
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center New Orleans
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Shreveport
Louisiana Tech University
Loyola University New Orleans
McNeese State University
Nicholls State University
Northwestern State University
Southern University
State Library Of Louisiana
The Historic New Orleans Collection
Tulane University
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
University of Louisiana at Monroe
University of New Orleans
Vermilionville Living History Museum & Folklife Park
Distinctive open access digital content that delights, celebrates diverse ideas and experiences, and elevates critical thinking, to help us think, learn, and act with integrity and wisdom.
Xavier University of Louisiana's Digital Archives contains a wealth of internationally and locally valued historical manuscripts, photographs, videos, ephemera, and university records. Includes multiple collections documenting slavery and freedom in Louisiana and the U.S.
The Archdiocese of New Orleans has digitized the baptism, marriage, and funeral records of people of diverse racial and ethnic identities from 1772 to 1818.
The City Archives & Special Collections Photographs and Digital Collections includes thousands of photographic prints, negatives, slides, posters, brochures, and born-digital images from individual photographers and New Orleans municipal government agencies.
Sourced from the Library of Congress, City and Business Directories: Louisiana, 1805-1929 contains 92 digitized directories that provide a window on the names, occupations, and addresses of people living in Louisiana in the 19th and early 20th centuries. City Directories are one of the few means available for researchers to uncover information about day-to-day life through analysis of information on churches, public and private schools, benevolent, literary and other associations, and banks.
Includes New Orleans City Directories from 1861-1960, as well as other Louisiana cities. Use the dropdown menu to browse by city and year, or the search box to look for specific names.
The Association for Cultural Equity Online Archive (ACE Online Archive/Lomax Digital Archive) provides access to field recordings, photographs, radio programs, interviews, and lectures of ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. Additional field work materials are available in the Alan Lomax Collection at the Library of Congress, many items from which have been digitized and are available freely online.
Includes broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900, not only in the United States, but also Canada, Mexico, the U.K., as well as a selection of European, Asian, and Latin American countries and cities.
ProQuest History Vault's Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle collection offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.
The resource comprises the following modules: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records and Supplement ; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Parts 1 and 2: NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; and African American Police League Records (1961-1988).
The Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877 collection consists of cultural periodicals published in Southern U.S. between 1797 and 1877.
The Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve collection consists of interviews and photographs by Mary Hufford and Tom Tankersley in December 1985 for the American Folklife Center, comprising part of the preliminary fieldwork for a proposed cooperative project with the National Park Service's Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve in southern Louisiana.
Open access written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. From the collections of the Library of Congress and others.
Digital exhibition of 119 items from the various special and general collections of the Library of Congress, which tell the story of the acquisition of Louisiana by the United States of America from France in 1803.
ProQuest History Vault's Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War resource consists of modules with a focus on Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; records focused on the Slave trade and other legal issues pertaining to slavery.
The resource comprises the following modules: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America (1636-1880); Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries (1700-1896); Slavery and the Law (1775-1867); and Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Parts 1-4.
Sourced from the Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library, the War on Poverty Community Profiles: Southern States provides analysis of poverty in America with an extensive inventory of historical data at a local level. Each profile, composed as a narrative with statistical indices, contains information showing general poverty indicators, size and composition of the poor population, and selected aspects of geography, demography, economy, and social resources. Southern states in this collection include Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
