News - Historical - Louisiana Information Sources: A Guide

Intro

This section offers extensive resources to locate and access historical Louisiana newspapers (19th century-present), from text-searchable databases to lists and guides to newspapers in print and on microfilm.

For historical U.S. and world newspapers not published in Louisiana, but which covered Louisiana news, see the News & Newspapers Library Guide.

Times-Picayune

There are 3 platforms to access the Times-Picayune, formerly The Picayune and Daily Picayune. The Newsbank/Readex platform has all issues and years. If you want to test out different search interfaces and filtering options for the 19th-century Daily Picayune, try the Proquest and Gale platforms.

Times-Picayune & Daily Picayune: 1837-2017 (New Orleans, La.) - Readex/Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Access full text and full image of articles from The Picayune, the Daily Picayune, and the Times-Picayune (New Orleans) from 1837 through 2017.
Daily Picayune: 1840-1865 (New Orleans, La.) - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Digital coverage (Jan 3, 1840 - Dec 31, 1865) of the newspaper that would eventually become the "Times-Picayune". Part of Proquest's Civil War Era Newspapers Collection.
Daily Picayune: 1861-1899 (New Orleans, La.) - Gale This link opens in a new window
Digital coverage (Jan 05, 1861 - Dec 31, 1899) of the newspaper that would eventually become the "Times-Picayune". Part of Gale's Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers collection.

Louisiana Newspaper Digitization Projects

Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project (DLNP)
LSU Libraries' Digitizing Louisiana Newspaper Project (DLNP) offers 128 titles from the state of Louisiana published between 1836 through 1922. The DLNP platform allows you to search and access newspapers by Title, Parish, Decade, Historically Black, and Multi-Language Titles. Includes topic guides and other resources.
Louisiana Newspapers (Louisiana Digital Library)
Discover digitized newspapers from across Louisiana. Allows you to search by keyword and browse by parish.
Chronicling America - Louisiana
The Library of Congress's Chronicling American project offers open-access digitizations of a wide range of local Louisiana newspapers. The interface allows you to search by ethnicity and language as well.
New Orleans Bee / L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-Orléans
The New Orleans Public Library has digitized issues from this French-language New Orleans newspaper (1823-1925), which also published editions in English and Spanish published for certain years.

Databases with Louisiana Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.

Includes the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

Abeille 1829 to 1876
Abeja 1829 to 1831 (Hispanic American)
Baton-Rouge Gazette 1819 to 1850
Black Republican 1865 (African American)
California True Delta 1858
Carillon 1869 to 1875
Catholic Standard 1862
Commercial Letter Sheet Prices Current 1837 to 1846
Community Leader 1985 (African American)
Concordia Eagle 1875 to 1883 (African American)
Concordia Intelligencer 1844 to 1860
Courrier de la Louisiane 1821 to 1838
Daily Advocate 1854 to 1906
Daily Delta 1845 to 1863
Daily Gazette and Comet 1858 to 1860
Daily State 1906 to 1910
Daily Telegraph 1870 to 1871
Daily True Delta 1857 to 1864
Echo 1873
Echo du Commerce 1808
Echo 1873 (African American)
Evening True Delta 1862
Inside New Orleans 1965 (African American)
Jeffersonian 1842
Jeffersonian Republican 1844 to 1847
Lanterne Magique 1808
Levy's Letter Sheet Price-Current 1834 to 1839
Louisiana Advertiser 1820 to 1827
Louisiana Herald 1819 to 1824
Louisiana Letter Sheet Prices Current 1832
Louisiana Planter 1810
Louisiana Rambler 1818
Louisiana Signal 1860
Louisiana State Gazette 1805 to 1826 includes: La Gazette d'etat de la Louisiane
Louisiana Staats-Zeitung 1864
Louisiana Sugar-Bowl=Le Sucrier de la Louisiane 1871 to 1877
Louisianais 1865 to 1877
Louisianian 1819 to 1820
L'Union 1862 to 1864 (African American)
Mensagero Luisiane's 1810
Merchants' Transcript, and New-Orleans Prices Current and Shipping List 1841
Meschacébé (Edgard) 1865 to 1876
Meschacébé (Lucy) 1854 to 1855
Mexicano 1813 (Hispanic American)
Misisipi 1808 (Hispanic American)
Moniteur de la Louisiane 1803 to 1812
Morning Herald and Jeffersonian 1842
Morning Star and Catholic Messenger 1876
New Orleans Argus 1809 to 1834
New-Orleans Commercial bulletin 1832 to 1871
New-Orleans Daily Chronicle 1818 to 1819
New Orleans Daily Creole 1856 (African American)
New Orleans Daily Crescent 1848
New Orleans Item 1877 to 1922
New-Orleans Price-Current and Commercial Intelligencer 1824 to 1876
New Orleans Republican 1916 to 1957
New Orleans States 1916 to 1957
New Orleans Times 1865 to 1878
New Orleans Tribune 1864 to 1869 (African American)
New Orleans Weekly Times 1863 to 1876
Observer 1900 (African American)
Opelousas Patriot 1844 to 1846
Orleans Gazette and Commercial Advertiser 1805 to 1820
Orleans Gazette 1805 to 1819
Planters' Banner 1843 to 1863
Post south 1867
Republicain 1845 to 1856
Review of Market for the Past Week 1824
State Times Advocate 1909 to 1922
St Tammany Farmer 1876
Sugar Planter 1858 to 1874
Sunday Delta 1856 to 1860
Telegraphe de la Campagne 1810
Telegraphe et le Commercial Advertiser 1803 to 1812
Times-Picayune (and Daily Picayune) 1837 to 1988
Time Piece 1811 to 1815
True American 1835
True Delta 1862
Union 1862 to 1864
Union, and c. 1804 to 1812
Weekly Advocate 1845 to 1903
Weekly Louisianian 1870 to 1882 (African American)
Weekly Pelican 1886 to 1889 (African American)
Weekly Picayune 1842 to 1913
Weekly Times-Picayune 1914 to 1918
Western Produce Circular 1861

Illustrated Civil War: Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Illustrated Civil War includes 23 pro-union titles, 11 pro-confederate titles, 15 campaign newspapers, and 600 letters and diaries, complete with illustrations, cartoons, and searchable text. Among the 19th-century newspapers and magazines included are Douglass' Monthly, Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, Harper's Weekly, Atlantic Monthly, and Vanity Fair.

Louisiana Signal 1860
DeBow’s Review 1860-1864

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access 500+ U.S. newspapers published between 1800 and 1900, many published in what were, at the time, territories. Covers a broad spectrum with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.

Includes the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

New-Orleans Commercial Bulletin 1833-1836, 1844-1868
Orleans Gazette, and Commercial Advertiser 1805-1820
Southwestern Christian Advocate 1877-1899
Louisiana Advertiser 1826-1828
Daily Picayune 1861-1899

Google News Archive - Louisiana
Google News Archive has more than 1,000 historic newspaper titles digitized. You can browse the title index and search keywords within titles or across the whole archive.

Includes select issues of the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

Courrier de la Louisiane (1810-1936)
Echo Von New Orleans (1870)
L'abeille de la Nouvelle-Orleans (1846-1929)
L'Orleanais (1852-1858)
New Orleans Commercial Bulletin (1826-1985)
New Orleanser Deutsche Zeitung (1876-1906)
New Orleans Republican (1867-1870)
New-Orleans Tagliche Deutfche Beitung (1873-1973)
Louisiana Staats-Zeitung (1830-1865)
The Daily Orleanian (1849-1857)
The Louisiana Courier (1855-1859)
The New Orleans Bee (1804-1871)

Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877 This link opens in a new window

Includes select issues of the following Louisiana titles and date ranges. All papers with no location indicated are New Orleans titles:

Commercial Review of the South and West (1846-1847)
The Crescent Monthly (1866-1867)
Deaf-Mute Pelican: Devoted to the Interests of the Deaf and Dumb (Baton Rouge, 1870-1872)
Le Creole: Gazette des Salons, des Arts et des Modes (1837-1838)
La Risa (1848-1849)
La Violette: Revue Musicale et Litteraire: Publiée sous le patronage des dames de la Louisians (1849-1850)
L'album Littéraire: Journal Des Jeunes Gens Amateurs De Littérature (1843)
L'album Louisianais (1851)
Le Carillon: Journal peu Politique, Encore Moins et Litteraire pas de Tout Serieux (1868-1875)
Le Franc-Macon (1845-1846)
Le Patriote (1876)
Le Taenarion (1846)
L'Ecureuil (1837)
L'entrácte (1850-1851)
The Masonic Delta (1858)
New Orleans Monthly Review (1874-1876)
Parlor Magazine (1857)
Polyglot (1848)
Reveille (Baton Rouge, 1872)
Revue Louisianaise (1846-1849)
Southern Quarterly Review (1843-1856)
Southern Ruralist and Horticultural Intelligencer (Amite City, 1866)
Southwestern Advocate (1875)
Star of Temperance (1845)

American Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The collection includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs published in the U.S. and Canada.

Includes digitized issues of the following Louisiana titles:

Agricultural & Mechanical Monthly College Journal of the State of Louisiana
The Christian Advocate (New Orleans)
Commercial Magazine
The Commercial Review of the South and West
Comptes-Rendus de l'Athénée Louisianais
The Crescent Monthly
The Daily Programme (New Orleans)
De Bow's Review
Deaf-Mute Pelican: Devoted to the Interests of the Deaf and Dumb
Der Familienfreund
Farmers Vindicator and Co-operative News
The Heptasoph
The Iron Preacher
Journal de la Société de la Médicale de la Nouvelle-Orléans
L'Album Littéraire: Journal des Jeunes Gens, Amateurs de Littérature
L'Album Louisianais
L'ecureuil
L'Entr'Acte
L'Homoïon
L'Union Médicale de la Louisiane
La Creole: Gazette des Salons, des Arts et des Modes
La risa
La Violette: Revue Musicale et Litteraire
Le Carillon: Journal Peu Politique, Encore Moins et Litteraire Pas de Tout Serieux
Le Franc-Macon Louisianais
Le Patriote
Le Praticien Homoeopathe
Le Propagateur Catholique
Le Spiritualiste
Le Tænarion
Le Taenarion
The Louisiana Law Journal
The Masonic Delta
New Orleans Christian Advocate
New Orleans De Bow's Monthly Review
The New Orleans Medical and Surgical Journal
The New Orleans Monthly Review
New Orleans Protestant
The Orleanian
Our Home Journal
Our Paper (New Orleans)
The Parlor Magazine (New Orleans)
The Polyglot
The Present Age (New Orleans)
The Reveille (Baton Rouge, LA)
Revue Louisianaise
Son of the Soil
The South Land
South-Western Baptist Chronicle: Devoted to Religion, Science, Literature, Commercial and General Intelligence
South Western Presbyterian
Southern Journal of the Medical Sciences
The Southern Quarterly Review
Southern Ruralist (Amite City, LA)
Southern Ruralist and Horticultural Intelligencer
Southern Ruralist (Greensburg, LA)
Southwestern Advocate
Southwestern Granger
Star of Temperance (New Orleans)
The True Witness
True Witness and Sentinel
Wright's Hygienic Courier: A Monthly Record of General News, Literature, Science and the Arts
The Y.M.C.A. Chronicle

American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) This link opens in a new window
This database includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. covers more than 1,000 titles from 1741-1940. Produced through partnership with the Center for Research Libraries, of which Tulane is a member.

Includes digitized issues of the following New Orleans titles:

The Louisiana Planter and Sugar Manufacturer (1888-1924)
The Planter and Sugar Manufacturer (1925-1929)

Black Press

DIGITAL ACCESS

Louisiana Weekly (TRIAL)
Founded in 1925 and still publishing, Louisiana Weekly is a historic New Orleans African American newspaper. Tulane has access to 1956-1963 through an institutional trial on Newspapers.com that expires on February 28, 2024. To search Louisiana Weekly only, and not the entire database, go to PAPERS and search Louisiana Weekly.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States.

Includes the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

Black Republican 1865
Community Leader 1985
Concordia Eagle 1875 to 1883
Echo 1873
Inside New Orleans 1965
L'Union 1862 to 1864
New Orleans Daily Creole 1856
New Orleans Tribune 1864 to 1869
Observer 1900
Weekly Louisianian 1870 to 1882
Weekly Pelican 1886 to 1889

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.

Includes the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

Black Republican 1865
Community Leader 1985
Concordia Eagle 1875 to 1883
Echo 1873
Inside New Orleans 1965
L'Union 1862 to 1864
New Orleans Daily Creole 1856
New Orleans Tribune 1864 to 1869
Observer 1900
Weekly Louisianian 1870 to 1882
Weekly Pelican 1886 to 1889

African American Periodicals 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 170 digitized African American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Includes the following New Orleans/ Louisiana titles and date ranges:

Black Warrior (1864)
Blackview (1984)
Nkombo (1968-1969)

African American Louisiana Newspapers - Chronicling America
The Library of Congress's Chronicling America site provides digital access to select issues of The Black Republican (1865-186?), The Concordia Eagle (1873-1890), The Crusader (1889-189?), The Echo, L'union (1862-1864), Le Dimanche (1861-1876), The Louisianian (1870-1871), The Observer (1899-1900), The Republican Courier (1899-1900), the Semi-Weekly Louisianan (1871-1872), Southern Republican (1898-1907), and The Weekly Louisianian (1872-1882).

TULANE MICROFILM

Monroe News Leader (Monroe, Jan. 7, 1968-Dec. 30, 1973)
Louisiana Weekly (New Orleans, Jan. 7, 1939-Dec. 31, 1983)
The Weekly Louisianian (New Orleans, Feb. 29, 1872-June 17, 1882)

LOUISIANA BLACK PRESS RESEARCH TOOLS

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals by James P. Danky (Editor); Maureen E. Hady (Editor)
Call Number: Howard-Tilton Stacks ; PN4882.5 .A37 1998
Publication Date: 1999
This monumental bibliography lists African-American newspapers and periodicals published across the U.S. Each bibliographic entry includes information on which libraries hold print copies, as well as availability on microfilm.

Excel List of Louisiana African-American Newspapers and Periodicals
This excel list allows you to view and sort the Louisiana newspapers included in James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals (1999). Use the index numbers to find more information on each title in Danky's bibliography.

Press in Languages Other than English

Bibliography of Spanish Language Press in New Orleans
Bibliography of Spanish-language news publications in New Orleans starting in the 19th century, by The Latin American Library at Tulane.
Chronicling America
The Library of Congress's Chronicling America Project includes several digitized Louisiana newspapers in languages other than English. Limit your advanced search to Louisiana, then select the language you want to search.
Multi-Language Titles - Louisiana Newspapers
A list of Multi-Language Titles that were part of LSU's Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers project, with links to browse the issues on the Library of Congress's Chronicling America site.

Newspapers on Microfilm

Newspapers on Microfilm at Tulane: An Index
PDF guide to domestic and foreign newspapers on microfilm at Tulane Libraries. All titles are also discoverable in Library Search. See pp. 4-9 for Louisiana newspapers. Microfilm can be accessed in Media Services, Howard-Tilton Memorial Library 6th floor.
Louisiana Newspapers at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
Tulane is a member of the Center for Research Libraries, which houses an extensive collection of historical newspapers on microfilm. If you find a newspaper on microfilm in CRL's catalog you'd like to consult, you can request it by using the BOOK request form in Interlibrary Loan. To ask CRL to digitize the issues you're interested in--rather than having them send the microfilm--state which issues or date ranges you'd like digitized in the Notes field of your ILL request. If copyright allows, CRL and Tulane's ILL Department email you a link to the digitized materials.
New Orleans Public Library (NOPL) Newspaper Collection, 1787-1974
Lists newspapers by year. Most are available on microfilm to consult in the Louisiana Division reading room ( 219 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70112).

Print Newspapers at Tulane Libraries

Print and electronic Louisiana and New Orleans newspapers available via Tulane Libraries are discoverable through Library Search.

Below are some sample advanced searches you can try. For assistance, email scholarlyengagement@tulane.edu.

NEWSPAPER SEARCH BY TITLE

NEWSPAPER SEARCH BY PUBLISHER LOCATION

JOURNAL SEARCH BY TITLE (captures magazines and other periodical publications not cataloged as "Newspapers," but also academic journals)

JOURNAL SEARCH BY PUBLISHER LOCATION (captures magazines and other periodical publications not cataloged as "Newspapers," but also academic journals)

To consult these newspapers and magazines, you will have to make an appointment with the respective archive or special collection to consult the rare item in their reading room.

If the item location starts with...	...go here for appointment information
Jones Hall Howard-Tilton Rare Books	Tulane University Special Collections
Amistad Research Center	Amistad Research Center
Latin American Library (Rare ____)	The Latin American Library Special Collections
Vorhoff Collection	Newcomb Archives and Vorhoff Collection

Indexes and Guides

These indexes and guides will help you discover newspaper titles published in Louisiana by date ranges, type, and other parameters. Most include information on how to access the newspapers, whether digitally, on microfilm, or in print.

Louisiana Newspapers (LSU Libraries Special Collections)
Extensive guide to researching and accessing Louisiana newspapers in print, microform, and digital formats at LSU and other libraries. Includes microfilm indexes and family trees for Louisiana Newspapers.
NOPL Newspaper Collection, 1787-1974
Most holdings are available on microfilm in the Louisiana Division reading room at NOPL.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Louisiana
Library of Congress list of newspapers published in Louisiana

Bayou State Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
A subject index to articles in nearly ninety Louisiana periodicals published between 1958 and today. The database can be searched by keyword, subject heading, author or title.