Library Guides: News and Newspapers Library Guide: Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to Tulane University Libraries' (TUL) News & Newspapers Library Guide! This guide is designed to help you:

find out if TUL provides access to specific newspapers, magazines, and news sources
discover and explore the newspaper databases and aggregators you can access through TUL
learn how to set up web and mobile access to popular flagship newspapers like the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal

Top Picks

Newspaper Aggregators (Current and Historical):

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Advanced search page to access all ProQuest news databases—both historical and current—available through Tulane University Libraries. Encompasses the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Latin American newsstream, Le Monde, Historical Black newspapers, Jewish American press, and more.

Tulane provides access to:
- The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
- The American Israelite (1854-1874)
- The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942)
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Baltimore Sun (1837-1998)
- The Boston Globe (1872-1993)
- Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1998, 2008-present)
- Civil War Era Newspapers & Pamphlets
- The Christian Science Monitor (1908-present)
- Cleveland Call and Post (1932-2010)
- Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)
- The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
- The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2022)
- The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
- The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
- The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
- Latin American Newsstream
- Le Monde (1944-2000)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
- Los Angeles Times (2008-present)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
- The New York Times (1851-present)
- New York Tribune (1841-1922)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
- Philadelphia Tribune (1841-1922)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- The Scotsman (1817-1950)
- The Times of India (1838-2012)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013)
- The Washington Post (1877-current)
- U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
Access World News - Historical and Current
A vast collection of more than 16,000 U.S. and global news sources in English, Spanish, French, and many other world languages. This one-stop database allows you to search all Newsbank current and historical news sources that Tulane subscribes to, including Access World News, America's Historical Newspapers, World Newspaper Archive, Black Life in America, Hispanic Life in America, and the Times-Picayune collection. Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, communications, economics, education, health, journalism, marketing, politics, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media.
Nexis Uni
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.

Historical Newspapers:

Newspapers.com
Extensive online database of 4,000+ and growing historical newspapers from the early 1700's into the 2000's published in the U.S., Canada, U.K., Ireland, Panama, Australia, Papau New Guinea, and the Philippines. Includes Louisiana Weekly (1956-1963) and 36 other Louisiana newspapers.

To clip, save, and share articles, sign in and create a free Newspapers.com or Ancestry.com account.
America's Historical Newspapers
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.
World Newspaper Archive
A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. Tulane has access to: African Newspapers, Latin American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, and South Asian Newspapers.
Global Press Archive
The East View Global Press Archive® (GPA), in collaboration with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), is working to creating one of the most comprehensive collections of digital news sources from around the world. Currently, this expanding collection contains the following subsections/archives: East African Newspapers; El Caribe Digital Archive; El Mundo Digital Archive; Imperial Russian Newspapers; Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers; Izvestiia Digital ArchiveIzvestiia Digital Archive; Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers; Literaturnaia Gazeta Digital Archive; Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers; Prensa Libre; Post-Perestroika Newspapers; Pravda Digital Archive; South Asian Newspapers; and Southeast Asian Newspapers collections.

Louisiana:

Times-Picayune & Daily Picayune: 1837-2017 (New Orleans, La.) - Readex/Newsbank
Access full text and full image of articles from The Picayune, the Daily Picayune, and the Times-Picayune (New Orleans) from 1837 through 2017.
Times-Picayune Collection (New Orleans)
Includes Times-Picayune content from 1989 to the present. Allows you to search and browse full-color scans of the print editions of the Times-Picayune, as well as Web Edition articles published on nola.com.
Louisiana Newspapers
Current and historical collection of newspapers from across the state of Louisiana.