Library Guides: News and Newspapers Library Guide: Contemporary News Databases

Intro

Tulane University Libraries (TUL) subscribes to an array of contemporary news databases that allow researchers to search within and across news sources by publication, keyword, date, and more. Keep scrolling to discover which flagship newspaper, major aggregator, business, environment, Latin American, and Louisiana databases you can access through TUL.

Flagship Newspapers

New York Times (ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The New York Times from 2008 to 30 days before the present date. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
Washington Post (ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The Washington Post from 2008 to 30 days before the present date. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The Los Angeles Times from 2008 to 30 days before the present date. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of the Chicago Tribune from 2008 to 30 days before the present date. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.

Major Aggregators

Access World News - Current
Access more than 12,000 U.S. and global news sources in English, Spanish, French, and many other world languages. Includes many local outlets from smaller cities, including the Times-Picayune (New Orleans), as well as major publications like the Financial Times and The Times (London). Coverage varies by news source, but spans the late 20th century to the present day, with news updated daily. Use the A-Z Source List to search by newspaper; the Map Search to discover titles by location; and the Advanced Search to explore by keyword, date ranges, and more.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus offers English-language news from nearly 500 U.S. newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, and major metropolitan newspapers. It also includes full text for more than 600 international newspapers, such as The Sydney Morning Herald, Hindustan Times, The Times (U.K.), Bangkok Post, Toronto Star, The Manila Times, The Jordan Times, Kuwait Times, and Hindustan Times. The database features more than 1.6 million television and radio news transcripts from top sources like ABC News (American), CBC (Canadian) CBS News, CNBC, CNN, MSNBC, and PBS.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
A portal to access all the ProQuest news databases—both historical and current—available through Tulane University Libraries. Encompasses the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Latin American Newsstream, Le Monde, Historical Black newspapers, Jewish American press, and more.

Tulane provides access to:
- The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
- The American Israelite (1854-1874)
- The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942)
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Baltimore Sun (1837-1998)
- The Boston Globe (1872-1993)
- Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1998, 2008-present)
- Civil War Era Newspapers & Pamphlets
- The Christian Science Monitor (1908-present)
- Cleveland Call and Post (1932-2010)
- Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)
- The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
- The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2022)
- The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
- The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
- The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
- Latin American Newsstream
- Le Monde (1944-2000)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
- Los Angeles Times (2008-present)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
- The New York Times (1851-present)
- New York Tribune (1841-1922)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
- Philadelphia Tribune (1841-1922)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- The Scotsman (1817-1950)
- The Times of India (1838-2012)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013)
- The Washington Post (1877-current)
- U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
Nexis Uni
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.

Business & Finance

ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM Collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist and Wall Street Journal, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers access to information about companies and business trends around the world.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Business and political intelligence for more than 200 countries. Reports and Services include: Country Reports, Country Forecast, Global Outlook, Commodities, Industry Briefing, CountryData and Market Indicators & Forecasts.
Factiva
Factiva pulls together full-text coverage of newspapers, periodicals, business news, company reports, industry reports, and financial data compiled by Dow-Jones and Reuters. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and other major outlets.

Environment & Energy

E&E News
Provides up-to-date journalism on energy and environmental issues that keep professionals informed on the following topics: Air & Water Pollution; Climate Policy & Politics; Congress & Federal Agencies; Corporate Sustainability; Cybersecurity; Electric Utilities Oil, Natural Gas, Coal, Nuclear & Renewables; Public Lands & Endangered Species; Regulations & Legal Actions; Science & Technology Innovation; State Legislation & Issues; and Transportation & Infrastructure.

Latin America & Latinx

Latin American Newsstream
ProQuest Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Use the "Publications" tab to see which newspapers and coverage the database includes.
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
Access to leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English.

Contemporary News Online - Latin America, Caribbean, and Latinx
Link to page on the News & Newspapers - Latin America & the Caribbean Library Guide with extensive, detailed list of databases and resources.

Louisiana

Times-Picayune: 1989-Present (New Orleans, La.) - Newsbank
Includes Times-Picayune content from 1989 to the present. All years are text-searchable. Full-page image scans of the print edition are available for 2017-current.
Louisiana Newspapers
Current and historical collection of newspapers from across the state of Louisiana.

Contemporary News - Louisiana Information Sources Library Guide
Link to section of the Louisiana Information Source Library Guide with extensive, detailed list of New Orleans and Louisiana news databases and websites.