Go to:
- Howard-Tilton Library HomeGo back to the library's home page.
- Research HelpContact information, consultation and workshop information, and online help options.
New Orleans metro area
For other older Louisiana newspapers, click on the Historical Newspapers tab above.
- Times-Picayune (1989-current)Full-text electronic edition via NewsBank database
- Times-Picayune (also Daily Picayune) (1837-1988)America's Historical Newspapers collection contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for the Daily Picayune (later Times-Picayune) from 1837 to 1988. The Times-Picayune is also available through Newsbank from 1989-present.
- Times-Picayune (also Daily Picayune) (1840-1865) Civil War Era contains the earliest editions of the Daily Picayune (later Times-Picayune) from 1840 to 1865.
- Times-Picayune (also Daily Picayune) (1861-1899) 19th Century American Newspapers collection contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for the Daily Picayune (later Times-Picayune) from 1861-1899.
- Times-Picayune (1914-current) on microfilm
- Times-Picayune family tree
- CityBusiness via Lexis-Nexis databasetext only
- Gambit Weekly
- Herencia Hispana (Hispanic Newspaper)
- Revista N.O.stros / N.O.stros Magazine
- El Tiempo
- Vocero Magazine
- NOPL Newspaper Collection, 1787-1974 - Holdings By Year Most of the holdings listed below are available on microiflm in the Louisiana Division reading room. Please note that this page is only intended to be an electronic version of the existing card file, not an attempt to present an up-to-date catalog of the Louisiana Division's newspaper holdings. The list does not include data for the years after 1974, nor does it include most of the older titles that were added to the collection over the last thirty years.
- Journal of Jefferson Parish (November 04, 2005 - May 24, 2008)text only from Lexis-Nexis - no longer published
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers NEW ORLEANSLibrary of Congress list of newspapers published in New Orleans
Louisiana
- Louisiana Newspapers via NewsBank database (25+ papers) Abbeville Meridional, Advocate, Alexandria Examiner, American Press, Bastrop Daily Enterprise, B.R. Examiner, Beauregard Daily News, Crowley Post-Signal, Daily Iberian, Daily News, Daily Review, Donaldsonville Chief, Franklin Banner-Tribune, Gonzales Weekly Citizen, Kaplan Herald, L'Observateur, Lafayette Examiner, Lake Charles Examiner, Leesville Daily Leader, Monroe Examiner, N.O. Examiner, Plaquemine Post South, Shreveport Examiner, Southwest Daily News, St. Tammany News, Times-Picayune
- Bogalusa: Daily News
- Hammond: Daily Star
- Morgan City: Daily Review
- St. Tammany Parish/Slidell: News Banner and Sentry-News
- Best of the Web: Louisiana newspapers
- Louisiana Newspaper Links (Louisiana.gov)
- Library of Congress list of newspapers published in Louisiana
- Louisiana Newspaper Project (LSU Libraries)LSU Libraries staff members cataloged all extant Louisiana newspapers they could locate in the state. They also compiled detailed information on all issues (both original and on film) held by repositories throughout the state. This information is updated and currently available online via FirstSearch WorldCat and OCLC Connexion Local Holdings Maintenance.
- Louisiana Newspapers Family Trees (LSU Libraries)Some Louisiana newspapers have complicated publishing histories. They have changed titles, merged with other newspapers, split into different titles, and been published in various editions with slightly different titles and different frequencies. This makes it difficult to trace their publication through time. "Family trees" provide a graphic way of seeing these connections.
- Louisiana Newspaper WebIndex (LSU Libraries)The Louisiana Newspaper Project is proud to make available parish and chronological indexes to over 1,700 extant and currently published Louisiana newspapers dating from 1794, the Moniteur de la Louisiane, (the first newspaper printed in French and published in New Orleans), as well as Times- Picayune, the longest-lived Louisiana newspaper, established in 1837. Also available are indexes to Louisiana newspapers published during the Civil War, La. French newspapers, Louisiana black news
- NOPL Newspaper Collection, 1787-1974 - Holdings By Year Most of the holdings listed below are available on microiflm in the Louisiana Division reading room. Please note that this page is only intended to be an electronic version of the existing card file, not an attempt to present an up-to-date catalog of the Louisiana Division's newspaper holdings. The list does not include data for the years after 1974, nor does it include most of the older titles that were added to the collection over the last thirty years.
- Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project (DLNP)LSU Libraries is proud to present the Digitizing Louisiana Newspaper Project (DLNP), which offers 56 titles from the state of Louisiana published between 1860 through 1922—a total of 100,000 pages. Access the list of newspaper titles chosen for the 2009-2011 grant period via the Title and Parish links on the right. Browse newspapers from Louisiana and other states at Chronicling America.

Loading...
