HISA: Ancient & MedievalHISB: AfricaHISC: AsiaHISE: Modern EuropeHISL: Latin America & CaribbeanHISM: Middle East & North AfricaHISU: United States
Archives & Research LibrariesHistorical NewspapersPrimary Source DatabasesStatistics & DataU. S. Census
This is the "Home
 " page of the "History Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

History Research Guide   Tags: history  

Research Tools for History
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/history Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home
 
Print Page
  Search: 
 

Looking for Journal Articles?

The journal literature in history is divided geographically between two major databases: America: History & Life covers journal articles about the United States and Canada, and Historical Abstracts covers journal literature for world history outside the U.S. and Canada, 1450-present.  Don't forget that books are the most important publishing format for historians, so don't stop with journal articles in your research!

  • America: History & Life
    Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
  • Additional Databases
    For more databases with journal articles in history, some specialized by geography or time period, visit the Find Articles menu tab of this guide.

New Primary Sources!

Check out these new primary source collections acquired this past academic year.

  • Confidential Print: Africa  
      
    British Foreign and Colonial Offices documents relating to Africa during the colonial and independence periods, 1834-1966.
  • Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-29, 1949-1980
    British Foreign office files covering 1919-1929, highlighting the Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International; 1949-1956, the Communist Revolution; 1957-1966, the Great Leap Forward; and 1967-1980, the Cultural Revolution.
    (Documents from 1930-1948 are not yet digitized.)
  • Early European Books
    New content! Traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Adam Beauchamp
Research & Instruction Librarian
Contact Info
504-247-1785
abeaucha@tulane.edu
Send Email
What I do in the library:
I teach people how to find and think critically about information, especially in the social sciences. E-mail me a question, or ask for a one-on-one research consultation.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip