Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975, as well as other historical African-American newspapers. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies.
Offers unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations.
Africa Knowledge Project (known as AKP) promotes Critical African Studies. It disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and African Diaspora. Included in the Tulane subscription are the African Music Database, Biafran War Database, the archive of the Kiswahili Story Database and the Enriching Resource Document & Language Archive. Full-text document PDFs are download only.
The Black Women Radicals Database (BWRD) historizes and visualizes Black women’s radical political activism in Africa and in the African Diaspora in efforts to build academic, political, and community engagement, dialogue, knowledge production, research, and education about Black women’s significant legacies as socio-political agents of radical change.
The Black Life in America collection covers topical categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination, and activism and protest movements. It covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st – from pre-Revolution America to the modern era.
Subscription includes Series 1: 1704-1877; Series 2: 1878-1975; and Series 3: 1976-today.
Contains thousands of sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Where possible, complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
Covers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing and a focus on African History.
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing and it is a reference resource covering all facets of the study of American History.
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Anthropology combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing. It is a regularly updated reference resource covering all facets of the study of anthropology.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Latin American History (ORE Latin American History) provides students and scholars with peer-reviewed, historiographically-informed articles in all areas of Latin American history. As a digitally native resource, ORE Latin America History also incorporates multimedia, including images, links, and audiovisual clips, that allow readers to explore in greater depth the richly diverse history and cultures of Latin America.
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing to attempt to map literary expressions and criticism across the various fields and approaches that make up literature in its broadest sense.