Library Guides: News and Newspapers Library Guide: Washington Post

Intro

Tulane University Libraries (TUL) provides Washington Post access to current Tulane affiliates through:

A subscription to washingtonpost.com, which does not include mobile/tablet app access
Multiple databases that include Washington Post content and are designed for research purposes: Proquest Recent Newspapers, Proquest Historical Newspapers, NexisUni, and Factiva

Keep scrolling for access links and instructions.

Washingtonpost.com

To set up your account:

Follow the steps on this PDF:

WaPo Account Set-Up Instructions

Once you've set up your account, use this link to access washingtonpost.com:

Washington Post This link opens in a new window

Database Access

Tulane affiliates can access historical and recent Washington Post content through multiple databases that allow you to search by keyword and, in some cases, browse by issue. Please note that extent of coverage, digitization type (i.e. PDF/image scan or HTML), and search capacities vary by database.

Washington Post (ProQuest Recent Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The Washington Post from 2008 to 30 days before the present date. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date. To access washingntonpost.com and create a personal account via Tulane's subscription, see instructions here: https://libguides.tulane.edu/news_newspapers/washingtonpost.
Washington Post (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The Washington Post from 1877 to 2008. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.

Newspaper Source Plus - Washington Post
Newspaper Source Plus includes Washington Post coverage from 2013 to the present. This link will direct you to a page where you can browse WaPo by issue or search within the publication. WaPo content in this database is provided in HTML full-text format. For image scans of print issues of The Washington Post, use the Proquest databases.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
To access The Washington Post on Factiva, scroll down to the Newsstand: US section. Factiva is a database that pulls together full-text coverage of newspapers, periodicals, business news, company reports, industry reports, and financial data compiled by Dow-Jones and Reuters. Note that its search interface is not very user-friendly, and geared more toward business research.
Note: Factiva allows for a maximum of 8 concurrent users.