Library Guides: News and Newspapers Library Guide: Do we have access to...?

Intro

Want to know if Tulane University Libraries (TUL) provides access to a specific newspaper, magazine, or journal? Or news sources published in a particular location?

All of the newspapers we own on print and microform are cataloged and discoverable in Library Search.

See the Print Newspapers and Microform Newspapers sections for instructions on how to consult physical newspapers at different library locations.

Many, but not all, of the electronic/ digitized news sources we provide access to via databases are also discoverable through Library Search.

Keep scrolling for screenshots that illustrate search techniques you can apply in Library Search - Advanced Search to find known titles or news sources by location.

The end of this section includes information on databases not discoverable through Library Search and techniques to find newspapers at other libraries.

Search Newspapers by Title

Search Magazines & Journals by Title

Search by Location

For newspapers:

For magazines and journals:

Newspapers Not Discoverable Through Library Search

The following databases contain newspapers not currently discoverable in Library Search:

History Commons
Primary source database with materials relating to global indigenous peoples, LGBTQ+ communities, refugees and migration, and social justice, as well as African American history.

Tulane has access to the following History Commons modules:
- Indigenous Peoples Social Justice and Culture
- LGBTQ+ Social Justice and Culture
- Refugees, Migration, and Borders Social Justice and Culture
- African American Newspapers parts I-XIIS (formerly Accessible Archives)
- Civil War Collection Part 1, A Newspaper Perspective
- The Liberator, 1831-1865
- The South Carolina Gazette, 1732-1780
- The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
- The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Record
- Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets
- Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman
- Twelve Years a Slave
- The Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780
Newspapers.com
Extensive online database of 4,000+ and growing historical newspapers from the early 1700's into the 2000's published in the U.S., Canada, U.K., Ireland, Panama, Australia, Papau New Guinea, and the Philippines. Includes Louisiana Weekly (1956-1963) and 36 other Louisiana newspapers.

To clip, save, and share articles, sign in and create a free Newspapers.com or Ancestry.com account.
Global Press Archive
The East View Global Press Archive® (GPA), in collaboration with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), is working to creating one of the most comprehensive collections of digital news sources from around the world. Currently, this expanding collection contains the following subsections/archives: East African Newspapers; El Caribe Digital Archive; El Mundo Digital Archive; Imperial Russian Newspapers; Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers; Izvestiia Digital ArchiveIzvestiia Digital Archive; Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers; Literaturnaia Gazeta Digital Archive; Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers; Prensa Libre; Post-Perestroika Newspapers; Pravda Digital Archive; South Asian Newspapers; and Southeast Asian Newspapers collections.

Newspapers at Other Libraries

Didn't find the newspaper or magazine title you need to access through Tulane's Library Search or one of our databases? Check the Center for Research Libraries and WorldCat.

Center for Research Libraries - Newspapers
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has an extensive collection of newspapers on microfilm. To access the newspapers you find in CRL's online catalog, put in an Interlibrary Loan request for the microfilm, OR use the Notes field in the ILL form to request digital delivery. Contact library@tulane.edu for assistance.

WorldCat
WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. Keep in mind that newspapers are not typically eligible to be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan. To consult print newspapers at other libraries or access paywalled databases Tulane does not subscribe to, you will have to visit the library with holdings on site.

Directory of U.S. Newspapers in American Libraries
The Library of Congress's Directory of U.S. Newspapers in American Libraries is a searchable index of newspapers published in the United States since 1690. This directory can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them.