HISA: Ancient & MedievalHISB: AfricaHISC: AsiaHISE: Modern EuropeHISL: Latin America & CaribbeanHISM: Middle East & North AfricaHISU: United States
Topic Selection & BackgroundUsing Primary SourcesUsing Secondary Sources
U. S. Census
This is the "Research in History" page of the "History Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

History Research Guide   Tags: history  

Research Tools for History
Last Updated: May 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/history Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Research in History Print Page
  Search: 
 

New Collections!

Check out these new online newspaper databases acquired in 2012.

  • African Newspapers  
      
    Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published between 1800 and 1922. Coverage focuses on East and Southern Africa, and English-speaking West Africa.
  • Ethnic American Newspapers (1799-1971)  
      
    Provides extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history. Currently available titles highlight Irish & Jewish immigrant newspapers. This collection will expand as new titles are digitized, and will eventually include over 130 newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states.
  • South Asian Newspapers
    Includes 7 English-language newspapers from India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Available dates range from 1864 to 1922.
    Provided by Newsbank.
 

Tulane Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Your guide for History resources

Welcome to the History research guide!

This site is a collection of article databases, library resources, weblinks and research tips compiled by the librarians at the Tulane Libraries.

Use the drop-down menu on the Research in History tab for tips on conducting historical research. Use the other tabs for links to the many resources available.

Professional Associations

  • American Historical Association
    The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 to serve the broad field of history. It encompasses every historical period and geographical area and serves professional historians in all areas of employment
  • Organization of American Historians
    The Organization of American Historians (OAH) promotes excellence in the scholarship, teaching, and presentation of American history, and encourages wide discussion of historical questions and equitable treatment of all practitioners of history.
  • Southern Historical Association
    The Southern Historical Association was organized November 2, 1934. Its objectives are the promotion of interest and research in southern history, the collection and preservation of the South's historical records, and the encouragement of state and local historical societies in the South. As a secondary purpose the Association fosters the teaching and study of all areas of history in the South.
  • Louisiana Historical Association
    The LHA was founded on April 11, 1889 for the purpose of collecting and disseminating historical information on Louisiana, a goal which remains the primary mission of the association.

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Adam Beauchamp
Research & Instruction Librarian
Contact Info
504-247-1785
abeaucha@tulane.edu
Send Email
What I do in the library::
I teach people how to find and think critically about information, especially in the social sciences. E-mail me a question, or ask for a one-on-one research consultation.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip