It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Library Guide
The main library guide to support historical research, including primary and secondary resources for all geographical areas and time periods.
Provides extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history. Currently available titles highlight Irish & Jewish immigrant newspapers. This collection will expand as new titles are digitized, and will eventually include over 130 newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Full list of titles currently available and forthcoming.
Access full text articles in New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993, Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002, Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003, Los Angeles Sentinel 1946-2005, Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988, Norfolk Journal and Guide 1921-2003, Philadelphia Tribune 1912-2001, Cleveland Call and Post 1934-1991. Individual titles may also be searched separately.
Includes full text access to over 26 U.S., UK, Irish, and Indian English-language newspapers, which may also be searched individually.
Titles include: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922); The American Israelite (1854 - 2000); The Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1945); Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2003); The Baltimore Afro-American (1893 - 1988); The Boston Globe (1872 - 1986); Chicago Defender (1909 - 1975); Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1994); The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004); Cleveland Call & Post (1934 – 1991); Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1922); The Guardian & The Observer (1791 – 2003); The Irish Times & The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016); The Jewish Advocate (1905 - 1990); The Jewish Exponent (1887 - 1990); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2005); Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1994); New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993); The New York Times (1851 - 2014); New York Tribune (1841 - 1922); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916 - 2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002); The Scotsman (1817 - 1950); The Times of India (1838 - 2008); The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000) and The Washington Post (1877 - 2001)
Access full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1851. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue from 1851-2017.
Provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published between 1800 and 1922. Coverage focuses on East and Southern Africa, and English-speaking West Africa. Key titles with descriptions.
The aim of the site is to provide open access to images of the major titles of the early Hebrew press (19th and early 20th century). Access provided by The Jewish National and University Library, David and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project. Site is in Hebrew.
A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around Latin America. a subset of World Newspaper Archive (Newsbank) which also contains the America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers collections.
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Complete digital edition of The Times (London) retrieves full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire paper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching