1803-present Hansard is an edited record of what was said in Parliament. It also includes votes, written ministerial statements and written answers to parliamentary questions. It is published daily covering the preceding day, followed by weekly and final versions. Click on Commons Debates to get to link for Historic Hansard, with coverage from 1803-2005.
1688-2004 House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. We have access to the following: 18th century (1688-1834) , 19th century (1801-1900), 20th century (1901-2003/04 session).
1509-1714 Contains a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Parts I, II and III complete.
Part I covers The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic. Part II covers The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council. Part III covers The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic. Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council. Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782 is the continuation of SPO, 1509-1714, covering the 18th century from the accession of the Hanoverian monarchs to the British throne in 1714 to the end of the State Papers series in 1782.
The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. Includes every volume published and will be updated with the latest volume each year.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Access full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Includes recent and historical Irish census data. The Censuses of 1901 and 1911 are available online in full, while aggregate data is available in pdf form for 1926-1991. Interactive tables are available for 1996, 2002, and 2006. 2011 data will be included as it becomes available.
British government Confidential Print files, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Collections by region include:
Africa, 1834-1966;
China, 1919-1929, 1949-1980;
India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980;
Middle East from Egypt to Afghanistan, 1839-1969;
North America (USA, Canada, the Caribbean), 1824 – 1961.
Ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, and more.
Contains contemporary accounts and follow the detailed exchanges that shaped British foreign policy from the origins of the First World War and beyond.
Includes rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
The Grand Tour is a source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex. Also, the material covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs.
London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. It is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond.
Searchable editions of British and Irish (including foreign and colonial papers) printed editions of manuscript source material for the period c. 1000 to c. 1800.
Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press. Tulane subscribes to Parts I & II only, which span 1800-1900.
A major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.
Covers 1921-1972, and includes a full record of every debate and transaction for the duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland. Separate files exist for each Cabinet Meeting, with minutes and memoranda.
The Online Historical Population Reports (OHPR) collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.
Digital facsimiles of original manuscripts by early modern women from diaries to works of drama. An indispensable resource for anyone interested in women and women's writing in Early Modern Britain.
This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University.
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) that represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. Published mostly in London, however some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and the American colonies, Europe, and India are represented.
The Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts covers the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries and provides access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation covers the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries and provides access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. The collection currently includes theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises written by more than 300 Catholic authors.
Every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Tulane's subscription includes Parts I and II.
This project has been developed to encourage undergraduate work with rare primary documents. By using images of the texts rather than transcriptions, Empire Online enables students to connect with the past with greater immediacy. By retaining the look and feel of the original sources, we engender greater interaction with the material as students can understand better the circumstances in which sources were created and the ways in which the authors chose to present their arguments.
Index of European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.”
The Grand Tour is a source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex. Also, the material covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs.
The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.
Draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.5 million books and official publications, 71,000 archival collections and 18.9 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.
Part of ancestry.com's Fold3 platform for military records, this database includes thousands of digitized records, photos, and firsthand accounts from the following collections: WWII Naval Press Clippings, 1942-1960; Missing Air Crew Reports (MACRs), WWII, 1942-1947; Military Intelligence Division - Negro Subversion, 1917-1941; WWII JAG Case Files, Pacific - Army, 1944-1949; WWII JAG Case Files, Pacific - Navy, 1944-1949; WWII Allied Military Conferences, 1941-1945; WWII Allied Military Conferences, 1941-1945; Pearl Harbor Muster Rolls, 1939-1947; and WWII US Air Force Photos.
This collection, as seen through the eyes of the British diplomatic corps in Russia, provides a unique analysis of this "retro-reform" policy, including the increase of revolutionary agitation, deepening of conservatism and changes from agrarian to industrial society, and spread of pan-Slavism, both in the Russian Empire and Eastern Europe.
The British Foreign Office Records of General Correspondence for Russia, in record class F.O. 65, is the basic collection of documents for studying Anglo-Russian relations during this period of fundamental change.
From 1940-1945, covers the political life in Occupied Western Europe available to the British Government during World War II from the original intelligence reports, photographs, posters, and film.
This official statistical source provides rare, detailed data on the German economic situation during the Third Reich up to and throughout World War II.
Consisting of Monatliche Nachweise-ber den Auswartigen Handel Deutschlands (January 1933-June 1939); Der Aussenhandel Deutschlands Monatliche Nachweise (July 1939); and Sondernachweis der Aussenhandel Deutschlands (August 1939-1944).
In partnership with the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, the Library of Congress presents a digital library of documents highlighting the French presence in North America from the 16th to the end of the 19th centuries.
Links to a wide range of online archives and websites dedicated to the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939).
by Jana Krentz, Librarian for Latin American Studies at Yale University
Much has been published chronicling the role of Pope Pius XII regarding refugees, the Holocaust and relations with America during the war years and the immediate post-war period. This publication provides a wealth of unique correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal comments.
