Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files;
Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council’s Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975;
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan;
Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945;
The Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955;
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993.
Meiji Japan provides digital access to the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), an American polymath notable for his work in natural history, ethnography, archaeology and art history. Morse was invited to teach at Tokyo Imperial University in the 1870s and travelled extensively in Japan, recording his experiences in great detail and maintaining a deep interest in the country and its culture for the remainder of his life. This resource, a digital edition of Morse's papers, provides insights into Japan during the Mejii Era (1868-1912) along with Morse's numerous and valuable contributions to a wide range of academic disciplines.
With English-Language documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give insight into the changes in China during this period. Sourced from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London: 1793-1980.
The most comprehensive source covering primary sources on the Chinese Cultural Revolution. The database contains more than 10,000 Central Party documents, Communist party leaders' speeches, official newspaper articles from the early 1960s to the late 1970s, selections of some of the key Red Guard texts, and hard-to-reach archives that often buried within diverse Chinese newspapers many of which are not publicly available The database is updated annually.
British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Includes diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials.
Covers from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947. here are original Indian manuscripts containing histories and literary works, as well as accounts of wars, discussions of Indian Nationalism and papers of tea and coffee planters.
Official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China.
For viewing retrieved articles in English in Chrome- translate your search into simplified Chinese then perform the search. When your have the article you are looking for, pull/copy the link for it, drop that link into the search bar and when the article comes up, you can then choose to view it in English.