Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Disaster Resilience Leadership Academy: A Guide

Established in 2009, the DRLA trains current and future leaders in disaster resilience and humanitarian assistance in vulnerable communities across Africa, South and Southeast Asia and the Caribbean.

Find E-Journal

Journal:

Scholarly Databases

Howard-Tilton Memorial Library subscribes to many databases that may be of use to social work researchers. Some databases index the scholarly journal literature specific to social work, while others are interdisciplinary but specialized on a theme.  Social Services Abstracts and Social Work Abstracts are often the social worker's first stop for journal literature.  Access other thematic databases that may be relevant to your particular research topic.

Core Social Work Databases

Social Services Abstracts and Social Work Abstracts index the scholarship in social work and human services journals.  They each excel in different areas of coverage and indexing, so it is recommend you search in both.

If you aren't finding enough research on your topic here, expand your search to other databases in related fields including applied social sciences, family studies, and sociology.

Education

ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. There are three ways to search ERIC: 1) the Department of Education web interface; 2) the ProQuest database interface; or 3) the EBSCO database interface.

Gender & Sexuality Studies

For more resources on women, gender, and sexuality, visit the Gender & Sexuality Studies research guide.

Health Care & Medicine

Politics & Public Policy

For more resources on politics and public policy, visit the Political Science research guide.

Psychology

For more resources in psychology and related fields, visit the Psychology research guide.

General & Interdisciplinary Databases

The following are more general, interdisciplinary databases. If your search terms are not sufficiently specific, you may get a lot of "false returns" or articles only tangentially relevant to your topic.  While they do contain a lot of full text, save these general search tools for when you need to step outside your discipline-specific databases.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.