Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Disaster Resilience Leadership Academy: A Guide

Established in 2009, the DRLA trains current and future leaders in disaster resilience and humanitarian assistance in vulnerable communities across Africa, South and Southeast Asia and the Caribbean.

Library Catalog

Find books, movies, and more in the libraries by searching below:

Tulane University Catalog Search



More Catalog Search Options

WorldCat

Ready to expand your search beyond Howard-Tilton? Use the WorldCat database to search for books, journal titles, audio, video, and other materials in libraries across the country and around the world.  Use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow items from other libraries!

What if Tulane does not have a book or article I need?

If Tulane does not have a book you need in it's collection, please register to use the library's Interlibrary Loan service ILLiad.

ILLiad allows students, faculty, and staff of Tulane University to place Interlibrary Loan requests for materials from outside universities quickly and efficiently. Through ILLiad you can also renew, track, edit, and view the history of your requests.

Although it can take as little as a few days to receive an ILL request, please allow 10-14 days. Dissertations, theses and other rare or hard to find items may take longer or be unavailable.

Books Matter

Books and journal articles are the most common way to access scholarly research in your field, but each has advantages and disadvantages.  Books take longer to research, write, and publish, so the information is not as current as in journal articles, which are shorter and slightly faster to publish.  However, because they are longer and took more time to produce, books offer more thorough coverage of a topic, draw on a wider range of preexisting scholarship, and often excel in placing an argument in broader thematic and disciplinary context.

Consider a scholarly book in your own research, and look for the following:

  • Helpful introduction and overview of the topic;
  • Comprehensive literature review, outlining the major scholars and existing points of view on the topic;
  • Detailed study of the topic, usually broken down into manageable chapters;
  • Extensive bibliography to help you and other scholars find related works on the topic.

Finding Social Work in the Catalog

The library catalog uses several different terms to describe social work and social work-related topics.  Here are some examples you might try in your next catalog search:

Social service - works on the methods employed in social work, public or private.

Public welfare - works on tax-supported welfare activities.

Charities - works on privately supported welfare activities.

Human services - works that discuss collectively the various policies, programs, services, and facilities to meet basic human needs relating to the quality of life, such as education, health, welfare, etc.

Social work administration - works on the management and organization of social work practice.

Social work with ... - works on social work practice and theory for particular groups.
E.g. "Social work with African Americans," "Social work with children," "Social work with immigrants," "Social work with older people."


For works on these and other social work topics in other countries, combine a catalog term with a country name:
E.g. "Social work with crminials" AND "Great Britain."

Need a Book?

Find Books

Search the collections of Howard-Tilton in multiple formats, or use the drop-down menu to preselect books, articles, media, and other types of materials.





 

Google Books

Google's Book Search interface is available in over 35 languages, and its digital library collection includes items gleaned from partnerships with libraries, publishing houses, and individual collectors.  Try Google Book Search.

 

Suggest A Purchase

Tulane University's online form for making suggestions for book acquisitions.

Call numbers

Call number Floor
A - DA 4
DB - M 3
N - QD 2
QE - Z 1

 

The first letters in call numbers are associated with subject areas.

Letter
Subject area
A General Works
B Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion
C Auxiliary Sciences of History
D General and Old World History
E History of America
F History of the United States and British, Dutch, French, and Latin America
G Geography, Anthropology, and Recreation
H Social Sciences
HV Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology
J Political Science
K Law
L Education
M Music
N Fine Arts
P Language and Literature
Q Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture
T Technology
U Military Science
V Naval Science
Z Bibliography, Library Science, and General Information Resources
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.