Library Guides: Disaster Resilience Leadership Academy: A Guide: Websites &nbsp;

General Policy Research Organizations

Brookings Institute
A nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington. Provides quality research and analysis on the full range of public policy issues.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
A private, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation between nations and promoting active international engagement by the United States.
CATO Institute
A non-profit public policy research foundation headquartered in Washington, D.C. Provides access to papers and short studies dealing with the various public policy issues.
Council on Foreign Relations
A nonpartisan resource for information and analysis.
Hoover Institution
The Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace, is a public policy research center at stanford University devoted to advanced study of politics, economics, and political economy. Full-text resources include policy papers and reports.
Institute For Policy Studies
Multi-issue think tank providing reports and publications on peace, justice, and the environment.
Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
An independent opinion research group that studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues. Best known for regular national surveys that measure public attentiveness to major news stories, and polling.
Rand Corporation
RAND conducts research and provides analysis to address challenges that face the United States and the world. Some publications and papers are available online full text.
World Bank
Provides loans, advice, and customized research for more than 100 developing countries.
World Policy Institute
Part of the New School University, The World Policy Institute is a non-partisan organization providing global policy analysis. Online resources include The World Policy Journal.

Social Work Research Websites

Campbell Collaboration Library
Preparing, maintains and disseminates systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.
A systematic review is a summary of the best available research on a specific question. This is done by using transparent procedures to find, evaluate and synthesize the results of relevant research.
Center for Demography of Health and Aging
Site from a center for interdisciplinary research and training in population aging and health at the University of Wisconsin - Madison.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Reviews in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are prepared by authors who register titles with one of 52 Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review Group focuses on a specific topic area and is led by a Coordinating Editor(s) and an editorial team including a Managing Editor and an Information Specialist. The Cochrane Review Groups provide authors with methodological and editorial support to prepare Cochrane Reviews, and manage the editorial process, including peer review. These systematic reviews differ from other types of review in that they adhere to a strict design in order to make them more comprehensive, minimizing the chance of bias, and ensuring reliability. Rather than reflecting the views of the authors, or being based on a partial selection of the literature, (as is the case with many articles and reviews that are not explicitly systematic), they contain all known references to trials on a particular intervention and a comprehensive summary of the available evidence.

HSRR - Health Services and Sciences Research Resources
HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. Run by the National Institute of Health (NIH) through the US National Library of Medicine (NLM).
National Center for Health Statistics
The United States' principal health statistics agency, compiling statistical information through data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.
National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
This website is provided as an educational resource concerning PTSD and other enduring consequences of traumatic stress, for a variety of audiences.
Office of Immigration Statistics
From the U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security, this site offers a wealth of statistical data on all aspects of immigration and immigration control.

Advocacy Organizations

Amnesty International
An international organization focused on realizing the rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) and other internationally recognized human rights standards. Amnesty pursues research, active campaigns and casework, and advocacy to achieve its goals.
Anti-Slavery International
Anti-Slavery International works at local, national and international levels to eliminate all forms of slavery around the world.
Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders)
An international, independent, medical humanitarian organisation that delivers emergency aid to people affected by armed conflict, epidemics, healthcare exclusion and natural or man-made disasters.
Save the Children
An independent organization dedicated to helping children and families in the United States and around the world.
more...less...
From the website: "When disaster strikes around the world, Save the Children is there to save lives with food, medical care and education and remains to help communities rebuild through long-term recovery programs. As quickly and as effectively as Save the Children responds to tsunamis and civil conflict, it works to resolve the ongoing struggles children face every day — poverty, hunger, illiteracy and disease — and replaces them with hope for the future."