Providing social activities was an important function of settlement houses. Flyer, 1942, Kingsley House records, Manuscripts Collection 360.
Manuscripts Collection 257, Flyer, c. 1880, announcing the opening of a sales room by the Christian Woman’s Exchange, where "all kinds of plain and fine Sewing, Ornamental and Fancy needle Work will be received and sold." Christian Women's Exchange records, Manuscripts Collection 257.
Annual Report of the Community Chest, 1936, The chart shows the buisiness economy improving during the midst of the Great Depression, and the little girl says to her mother "Will things improve for us too, mummy?" Community Chest records, Manuscripts Collection B176.
Tulane University has a proud tradition of excellence in social welfare studies. It also has a long-standing commitment to the community. Therefore, preserving the contributions of our region's social welfare organizations and leaders is a special mission of the Louisiana Research Collection. If you know of records or papers we should preserve, please contact us.
The following is a selection of the archival holdings related to social welfare in Louisiana. For a complete listing of our holdings and for help using them, please visit us in Room 202, Jones Hall. You can also search archival collections online.
To use these materials or to learn what other archival collections we preserve, please visit the Schiro Reading Room, Room 202, Jones Hall.
The Louisiana Research Collection is located in Room 202, Jones Hall,
which is just across the street from Howard-Tilton Library.
Monday- Friday 10 am to 5 pm
In the course of daily life, individuals and organizations create and keep information about their personal and business activities. Archivists identify and preserve the portions of this recorded information that have lasting value.
These records -- and the places they are kept -- are called "archives." Archival records take many forms, including correspondence, diaries, financial and legal documents, photographs, and sound recordings.