The Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences serves as the primary resource library for the Tulane University Health Sciences Center comprising the School of Medicine, the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, and the Tulane National Primate Research Center. The Matas Library supports the teaching, research, and patient care functions of the health sciences programs through the acquisition, organization and dissemination of biomedical information. Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences is located on Tulane's Health Sciences downtown campus on the second floor of 1430 Tulane Avenue, New Orleans, LA, directly across from Tulane Medical Center.
The Latin American Library (LAL) is a welcoming place of learning. The LAL works to generate scholarly community, building on the historical connections between New Orleans and the Americas. By responsibly collecting, preserving, and providing access to historical and contemporary resources on Latin America, the Caribbean, and diasporic communities, the LAL strives to be central to the processes of discovery and dissemination of knowledge at Tulane University. As a global resource, the LAL facilitates the advancement of scholarship about the region by providing information and services to researchers and the general public in the New Orleans area, nationally and internationally. The Latin American Library (LAL) is located on the 4th floor of Howard-Tilton Memorial Library.
Tulane University Special Collections (TUSC) inspires actions that transform our world by creating pathways to evolving understandings of the past and present. In service to Tulanians, New Orleanians, and our global community, our staff works together to facilitate the broadest possible access to the resources in our care. Guided by professional best practices, standards, and ethics, we use our expertise to:
The Media Services team works to ensure access to Tulane Libraries' rich collection of film, audio recordings, microform collections, and music collections. This work includes building and maintaining these collections as well as managing Digital Media Reserves, circulation and shelving of media and the music print materials, providing research assistance, and ensuring library visitors have the tools and resources necessary to meaningfully engage with these research materials in the physical and digital realms.
Media Services continues to evolve with the developing needs of the Tulane Libraries and the University to meet contemporary research practices and cultures. We look forward to continuing to provide the core resources and services at the heart of Media Services as well as working with our library and campus partners to develop a suite of flexible services and tools that will enable members of the Tulane learning community who visit Media Services to engage in creative discovery, innovative communication, and personal and professional development.
The mission of the Tulane University Law Library is to support the research and curricular needs of its faculty and students by providing an outstanding collection of print and electronic legal materials and by offering the highest possible level of service. To the extent possible, the Tulane Law Library also supports the research needs of the greater community as well as scholars from outside the Tulane community.
The Law Library is also home to the world-renowned Judge John Minor Wisdom Collection containing his judicial papers and personal library accumulated during his forty years on the US 5th Circuit Court of Appeals. Students, faculty and scholars from all over the world come to the Law Library and the Wisdom Collection to conduct research and engage in legal scholarship. Additionally, the Law Library contains a large US government documents collection.
The Lillian A. and Robert L. Turchin Library supports the business research needs of the students, faculty, and staff of the A.B. Freeman School of Business and the Tulane community. Visitors are also welcome. Located on the third floor of the Goldring/Woldenberg Business Complex, the library acquires information in all formats to support this mission.
Turchin Business Library facilities include the Research Center, which offers research assistance, books and journals, computers, and a Bloomberg terminal. The Library’s Financial Analysis Lab is located in GWBC room 340. The Study Commons in room 334 includes 7 breakout rooms and an open seating space with tables and chairs.
The Amistad Research Center is committed to collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.
The Amistad Research Center is located at 6823 St. Charles Avenue in the Audubon neighborhood of New Orleans’ Uptown district. Housed in Tilton Memorial Hall on the campus of Tulane University, Amistad is situated on the St. Charles streetcar line just a few minutes from numerous restaurants in the Riverbend/Carrollton area, and is easily accessible from downtown New Orleans as well as the French Quarter.
The A. H. Clifford Mathematics Research Library is an independent unit of the Tulane University Libraries. The library is located on the 4th floor of Gibson Hall in the Department of Mathematics.
The library was rededicated in 1994 in honor of Alfred Hoblitzelle Clifford. Its initial development and expansion was largely made possible through a Grant of $575,000 by the Ford Foundation to the Department of Mathematics through Tulane University. The grant was awarded in June 1964 and expired on December 31, 1967. Today, books and journal subscriptions for the Math collection are purchased by Howard-Tilton Memorial Library.
The collection includes holdings of more than 31,000 volumes and approximately 370 current journal subscriptions with electronic access to more than 300 of those titles.
The Mathematics Research Library serves the faculty and graduate students of the Mathematics Department and all other sections of Tulane University in mathematics oriented research, as well as the New Orleans academic community.
