Music industry Data/Music ID is an inter-disciplinary research tool for music courses, entertainment industry business studies, film & media studies, cultural studies, humanities including modern history and statistics departments. The resource links all the data that exists on music, industry trends and commercial facts. This data is presented in Relative Pitch Graphs, which tell the story of the impact of music on society and cultures.
The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is a collection of movie information. IMDb tries to catalog every pertinent detail about a movie, from who was in it, to who made it, to trivia about it, to filming locations, and even where one can find reviews and fan sites on the web. IMDb then do their best to present this information in a manner that is easy to search and access.
The Mintel database contains the following:
Mintel Reports- covers brands, companies, markets, consumers and trends. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.
Mintel Market Sizes – global market data including market size, share and segmentation data.
A comprehensive collection of detailed industry research reports. Industry reports include industry analysis, outlook, products and markets, market segments, supply chain, major players, competitive landscape, operating conditions, key statistics, and more.
This subscription includes reports for the US and China, as well as global industry reports. Specialized industry reports are also included along with US business environment data profiles. Reports are typically 35-40 pages in length.
Fitch Connect (fka BMI Research) contains global industry reports with a focus on forecasting. It includes country risk and financial market reports on industries ranging from automotive to telecommunications. Geographic regions covered: Africa, Asia, Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, Middle East, and North America; reports are further divided by country. NOTE: users must agree to the use terms and privacy policy to access this resource
The mission of the American National Election Studies (ANES) is to inform explanations of election outcomes by providing data that support rich hypothesis testing, maximize methodological excellence, measure many variables, and promote comparisons across people, contexts, and time. The ANES serves this mission by providing researchers with a view of the political world through the eyes of ordinary citizens.
The mission of the Roper Center is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and around the world.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
A trusted resource for data on Southeast Louisiana to include disaster recovery, regional economic analysis, workforce development, racial disparity indicators, blight reduction, affordable housing, and coastal population movements.
A data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US.
CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health. For more than 70 years, we’ve put science into action to help children stay healthy so they can grow and learn; to help families, businesses, and communities fight disease and stay strong; and to protect the public’s health.
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for al
Health statistics are increasingly important in measuring the nation’s overall well-being. The Census Bureau provides accurate, detailed and up-to-date statistics—covering people and business—relating to health in America.
The Bureau of Health Informatics has partnered with Environmental Public Health Tracking to create and launch a self-service data portal for Louisiana residents looking for information on health concerns and conditions in the state. The portal reflects the vision and core values of OPH: to demonstrate transparency by making quality health data available and to employ and promote science-based best practices towards continuous improvement.
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.
IPEDS data are submitted at the aggregated-level from postsecondary institutions and do not have student-level information. Institutions submit data through 12 interrelated survey components about general higher education topics for 3 reporting periods.
Education Data Initiative is a small team of researchers with a mission to collect data and statistics about the U.S. education system and organize them in an accessible, comprehensive fashion.
Raw data sources are available at the bottom of each page. While most of our raw data is available to the public from academic and federal sources, such as the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), they are often buried in cumbersome tables, zip files, and legal disclosures. Our unique presentation and extrapolation streamline the research process and highlight critical data.
The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing.
NCEI is responsible for hosting and providing access to one of the most significant archives on Earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. From the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun and from million-year-old sediment records to near real-time satellite images, NCEI is the Nation’s leading authority for environmental information.
NCEI continues the tradition of excellence, unmatched expertise, and trusted, authoritative data that the previous three Data Centers established. The top priority during the near future is to build on the full spectrum of atmospheric, oceanographic, coastal, and geophysical products and services that the Data Centers delivered.
In response to the White House Open Data Policy, EPA has undertaken a broad range of
activities and initiatives, guided by the Agency’s Enterprise Information Management Policy
(EIMP) and aligned with the central tenets of Open Data.
Created by an act of Congress in 1879, the U.S. Geological Survey has evolved over the decades, matching its talent and knowledge to the progress of science and technology. The USGS is the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior. It is sought out by thousands of partners and customers for its natural science expertise and its vast earth and biological data holdings.
At the World Bank, the Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Working closely with the Bank’s regions and Global Practices, the group is guided by professional standards in the collection, compilation and dissemination of data to ensure that all data users can have confidence in the quality and integrity of the data produced.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Standardized and structured statistical data including key economic indicators. Covers subjects including banking and finance, criminal justice, education, industry and commerce, housing and construction, population and income, stocks and commodities, and more. International data includes China Data Center, International Monetary Fund, imports and exports, international finance statistics, World Bank statistics, and Stats Canada. NOTE: from off campus this resource is not compatible with the Firefox web browser.
Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.
