Library Guides: Latinx/e/a/o Studies Library Guide: Find News &amp; Newspapers

Contemporary News Online

Latino Rebels
Articles and opinion pieces about the latest U.S. Latinx and Latin American news.
Remezcla
Remezcla started as a grassroots project among writers and creatives to showcase new Latin music, culture, and events outside not receiving covering in major media outlets.
HipLatina
News, entertainment and culture geared at a Latina audience.

Radio Ambulante
Radio Ambulante is a Spanish-language podcast, distributed by NPR, that tells Latin American stories from anywhere Spanish is spoken, including the United States. Though episodes are in Spanish, they provide transcriptions into English and sometimes Portuguese on their website. In 2014, Radio Ambulante was awarded the Gabriel García Márquez Prize for Innovation in Journalism, the most prestigious journalism honor in Latin America.
Latino USA
Latino USA is a nationally syndicated public radio program produced by The Futuro Media Group and distributed nationwide by National Public Radio. Its focus is Latinxs and Latin American immigrants in the U.S.
El Hilo
Spanish-language podcast covering Latin American and world news from Radio Ambulante Estudios.
Alt.Latino
NPR podcast on Latinx arts and culture.
Latino Rebels
Humor, commentary and analysis of the US Latino world.
Code Switch
Program centered on issues of race and identity, which often covers immigration and Latinx stories.
AFROSAYA: The AfroLatino Podcast
Produced by Alex Gutierrez, who has worked with Black communities in Latin America for more than 12 years. Episodes advocate for access to education, health and justice for all, and occasionally include guest speakers.
Radio Caña Negra
Podcast & trainings by "three Black Central American macheteras about Blackness beyond borders, life, politics, love, anti-blackness among Latines, kids & more."

Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of fully searchable newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics, 1890-1980. Part of America's Historical Newspapers series. Select Hispanic American Newspapers from drop-down menu next to search box.
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Hispanic Life in America is designed to help researchers surface newspaper articles on varied elements of the Hispanic American experience from the Spanish colonial era until today. The database draws on nearly 17,500 American and global newspapers, including almost 450 Hispanic American newspapers. Provides full-text searching as well as access to content by Topic, Event, and Eras in Hispanic American History. Tulane's subscription includes Series 1 (1704-1942) and Series 3 (2010-today).

Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Chronicling America
Library of Congress digitization project including many historical newspapers published in Spanish in the continental United States as well as in Puerto Rico.
Borderlands Archives Cartography
Dedicated to locating, digitizing, and facilitating the access of nineteenth and mid-twenty periodicals from the U.S.-Mexico borderlands through a digital map and other data visualization platforms.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. Includes Latino series.
Palante
Palante (1970 - 1976) was a bilingual newspaper published by the Young Lords Party in New York City. Palante focused on the Puerto Rican independence movement, the oppression of Puerto Ricans and other Latinos in the United States, and global struggles for liberation.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture since colonial times until 1960.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
The Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers covers thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers –including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing.

News & Newspapers: Latin America & the Caribbean
The Latin American Library provides access to news sources in a variety of formats, ranging from rare print copies of historical newspapers (18th century-1930s), print copies of contemporary newspapers (1940s-present), current newspapers subscriptions (such as the Granma International from Havana, Cuba) and access to full-text databases. Use this guide to explore LAL holdings.
News & Newspapers: TU Library Guide
Extensive guide to searching U.S., world, and Louisiana news.
Spanish & Latinx News Sources in New Orleans
Guide to contemporary and historical news sources and databases, including a bibliography of Spanish-language press in New Orleans dating back to the 19th century.