Latinx/e/a/o Studies Library Guide

Voces Oral History Center is the leading Latino oral history archive in the United States, founded in 1999.

Oral history interviews are a major component of the Institute for Latino Studies’ effort to document and preserve Latino history (Notre Dame University). More than 100 interviews have been recorded with Latino leaders, writers, poets, artists, scholars, and Notre Dame Alumni, with a particular emphasis on the Midwestern United States.

Digital archive that contains the oral histories of Latin American migrants in North Carolina and the experiences of North Carolinians that have worked for the integration of new settlers into this southern state.

The Dartmouth Latino Oral History Project (DLOHP) is the outcome of oral histories produced for an undergraduate Latin American, Latino and Caribbean Course entitled “Crossing Over: Latino Migrant Roots and Transitions” taught by Prof. Lourdes Gutiérrez Nájera (Anthropology; Latino Studies). This course focuses on the experiences of Latino—Mexican, Salvadoran, Cuban, Dominican, Puerto Rican, and Guatemalan—transnational migrants living in the U.S.

The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Oral histories collected and preserved by the University of Nevada Las Vegas.

Yale University Library Guide to discovering Latinx oral histories.

Explore over 8,000 Documents of 20th and 21st⁠-⁠century art in Latin America, the Caribbean, and among US Latino communities from the archive of the International Center for the Arts of the Americas at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston.

Thirty-nine interviews conducted by Marc Zimmerman and members of the Chicago Latino/a Artists Studies Project (CLASP) with Latino artists in the Chicago, Illinois area for the Latin American Cultural Activities and Studies Arena (LACASA) in Chicago, Illinois and supporting interviews and supporting documentation and images (2004-2017).

New York’s leading Latino cultural institution, welcomes visitors of all backgrounds to discover the artistic landscape of Latino, Caribbean, and Latin American cultures. Their richness is represented in El Museo’s wide-ranging collections and exhibitions, complemented by film, literary, visual and performing arts series, cultural celebrations, and educational programs.

Aims to preserve for researchers the personal and official websites belonging to notable contemporary Latin American and Caribbean artists, artists’ collectives, artists’ groups, galleries, museums, and related entities in order to assure the continuing availability of the important content they contain.

Selections from Frank Espada’s Puerto Rican Diaspora Documentary Project (1979-1981).

The monumental mural cycle The Epic of American Civilization was painted by Mexican artist José Clemente Orozco between 1932 and 1934 in Baker-Berry Library at Dartmouth College. This site invites you to explore the murals and supplementary materials.

Digital collections of Latino art, culture, and history. A collaboration between Google and about 50 institutions (Smithsonian Latino Center, UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center, California State Archives, Miami Dade College, and more). The collection features more than 2,500 pieces of art through 90 exhibits.

Chicana Diasporic, A Nomadic Journey of the Activist Exiled, is a media rich, annotated Scalar research hub that highlights a political/ideological journey of the women of the Chicana Caucus of the National Women’s Political Caucus (NWPC) from 1973 to 1979. Presented in a museum collection format, this interdisciplinary exploration of the Chicana Caucus includes speeches, correspondence, event posters, photographs, filmed interview clips, an introductory narrative and timeline that defines the Caucus’ history, structure and purpose, and their national impact on 1970s second wave feminism.

LHP is a faculty-student research project that aims to enhance undergraduate education and provide resources on Latina/o and Chicana/o history in the Central Texas region. The LHP collects oral histories from past and present members of Southwestern community as well as several activists, including key figures in the Chicana/o Movement in Texas.

The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

A place where researchers, academics, teachers, students, genealogists, filmmakers, and the community at large find primary (historical documents) and secondary sources about the history and culture of the Puerto Rican diaspora.

The United States annexed Puerto Rico in the aftermath of the Spanish-American War of 1898 and has since governed the island as an unincorporated territory. Since 1898, Congress has debated upwards of 100 bills and enacted 11 laws extending four distinct types of citizenship to Puerto Rico. This website provides a documentary history of the federal citizenship legislation for Puerto Rico.

Palante (1970 - 1976) was a bilingual newspaper published by the Young Lords Party in New York City. Palante focused on the Puerto Rican independence movement, the oppression of Puerto Ricans and other Latinos in the United States, and global struggles for liberation.

Calisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's libraries, archives, and museums. Over 1,125,000 images, texts, and recordings, thousands pertaining to Latin America and Iberia.

The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

A database featuring photographs and documents assembled from twelve collections of the Urban Archives of the Oviatt Library Special Collections and Archives (California State University).

The papers of Herman Baca, a National City, California, Chicano rights activist and prominent member of the Mexican-American community, document the contributions and accomplishments made by Herman Baca and the Committee on Chicano Rights. Digitized by the UC San Diego Library.

The items in these exhibitions trace the history of Hispanic Americans in California from the Mission system and Californios into the 20th century: Mexican immigration into California, the farmworkers' labor struggles, and the Chicano Civil Rights movement and La Raza, which also resulted in an explosion of cultural art. Although a number of different Hispanic American groups now live in the state, the images in these exhibitions largely portray Mexican Americans, who have always comprised the majority of Hispanic Californians.

The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.

Includes collections of voter registration, San Antonio photojournalism and photography, LGBTQ publications, cookbooks, and more.

LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. Searchable Google Sheet.