Library Guides: Latinx/e/a/o Studies Library Guide: Find Articles

About

This section is designed to help you navigate the many databases available for locating scholarly articles. No two databases will have the same journal contents and search terms and algorithms, so it's important to test and compare more than one.

Pro tip: Can't find full-text access to the article you're looking for? Try these two steps:

Search the article or journal title in Library Search to see if TU Libraries provides full text access. If we do not, then:
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. You'll receive a PDF scan within a few days.

Best Bets

Library Search: Articles
Select the RESOURCE TYPE "Articles" to limit your search.

HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) This link opens in a new window
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine), a German database, is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic resources like journal articles, dissertations and theses, and research reports. It is especially strong in international and open access content.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Index of information about Latinos/Hispanics in the US. Provides extensive coverage of Mexican Americans from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present day.

Databases by Discipline

JSTOR is not the only archive of journal articles available online--far from it! Since JSTOR only has agreements to provide content published in certain journals, it's important to try other databases like those below and throughout this library guide.

JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access full-text, high-quality scholarly content (journals and books) in the humanities and social sciences as published by select leading university presses and scholarly societies.
PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive reference resource providing more than hundred full-text scholarly journals with articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
It offers key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides digital access to AAA journals, newsletters, and bulletins including current issues of 15 key peer-reviewed publications such as American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Bibliografía Mesoamericana (FAMSI)
Index of citations related to the ancient cultures of Mesoamerica. Subject areas include archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines.

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text and indexing for art journals, magazines and books. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Also includes over 63,000 images.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Includes content from 1929-1984 of art journalism, from more than 600 international publications.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

Cumincad
A cumulative index about publications in computer-aided architectural design

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. Limited to 8 concurrent users.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts economic periodical literature. Citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969 covering topics including accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Indexes academic journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal. Also includes country information and statistics, company profiles, industry reports and market research reports. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of core scholarly publications in disciplines including marketing, management, accounting, finance, information systems, international business, and more. Also includes industry profiles, market research reports, country reports, and SWOT analyses. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
URL:
ComINDEX Online This link opens in a new window
Contains information for journal articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. The literature included in this database is restricted to first-line scholarship published in academic journals that serve the communication discipline. The database is comprehensive.

Below are some of the top article databases for Film Studies. For more, see: Film & Cinema: Latin America & Spain.

Film Indexes Online This link opens in a new window
Search the AFI Catalog, the International Index to Film Periodicals Plus, and Film Index International via The Arts shared search interface.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.

Below are some of the top article databases for literary studies. See the Spanish & Portuguese Library Guide for more.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The leading international index of journals, books, dissertations, and more on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
more...less...
This major academic portal provides access to thousands of full-text literary works of historic and contemporary Spanish and Latin American authors as well as providing critical background and analysis.

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Addresses all facets of literary study, including biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works. LRC includes access to the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Includes: Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism 1400 - 1800, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism.
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Access full text information from respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
This robust full-text database provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It contains more than 780 literary journals, over 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews as well as thousands of articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies, reference books, books reviews, author reviews, poems, short stories, and novels. This resource gives students, teachers and librarians a complete foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The gateway to all Oxford's music resources, including Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (or IIMP), Music Periodicals Database is the only electronic index with abstracts to current music periodicals. The database contains complete runs of over ten important titles, such as the Journal of the American Musicological Society and Notes. It provides both current and retrospective coverage, with the most extensive backfile available electronically, with records from 1874 to 1996.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window
RIPM, (fka Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals) is an international annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950.
International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries.

Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP)
A portal service providing access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies. It encompasses working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Areas of public concern and potential legislation, including health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics and more. Includes articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. 1914 - present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Updated monthly.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s Environment Complete database offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. The resource includes more than 1,200 full-text journals and monographs, nearly 4 million records, indexing for more than 2,000 domestic and international journals dating back more than 100 years and more than 180 full-text monographs. Offering full text and indexing for these journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.

MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Covers health topics in developing and developed countries world-wide including communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, medical entomology, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants. 1910 - present.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
WHOLIS (Library & Information Networks for Knowledge Database) This link opens in a new window
Search the Library of the World Health Organization for many full text publications and documents produced by the World Health Organization.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
World Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology Abstracts (CAB Direct) This link opens in a new window
Searchable via the CAB Direct gateway, World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts (WAERSA) is an online bibliographic and abstracts database of internationally published research on applied rural socioeconomic research. Created and indexed by subject specialists, WAERSA provides access to these abstracts alongside comprehensive indexing and classification codes with a fully searchable backfile to 1973 of over 400,000 abstracts with approximately 20,000 new records added each year.
Social Theory This link opens in a new window
Offers documents that explore the nature of social behavior and organization. Content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith, and Talcott Parsons.