Library Guides: Spanish &amp; Portuguese Library Guide: Find Articles

About

This section is designed to help you navigate the many databases available for locating scholarly articles. No two databases will have the same journal contents and search terms and algorithms, so it's important to test and compare more than one.

Pro tip: Can't find full-text access to the article you're looking for? Try these two steps:

Search the article or journal title in Library Search to see if TU Libraries provides full text access. If we do not, then:
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. You'll receive a PDF scan within a few days.

Best Bets

Library Search: Articles
Select the RESOURCE TYPE "Articles" to limit your search.

Dialnet This link opens in a new window
Created and hosted by the Universidad de La Rioja, Dialnet contains citations and some full text access for over 10,000 scholarly journals from Spain, Portugal, and Latin America. Also included are over 6 million monographs, doctoral theses, proceedings, and other documents.
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. When off campus, sign-in with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Link and check for holdings accessible via Tulane. See this tutorial for help: How to Link Google Scholar to Your Library Account
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) This link opens in a new window
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine), a German database, is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic resources like journal articles, dissertations and theses, and research reports. It is especially strong in international and open access content.

LA Referencia
Latin American network of open access article repositories.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The leading international index of journals, books, dissertations, and more on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

General Academic Databases

JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access full-text, high-quality scholarly content (journals and books) in the humanities and social sciences as published by select leading university presses and scholarly societies.

These Latin American databases will help you discover scholarship produced In Latin America and the Caribbean. You'll find results in a wider variety of languages and from more diverse geographic perspectives.

LA Referencia
Latin American network of open access article repositories.

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) This link opens in a new window
Model Open Access portal to full-text journals and books published in most countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Portugal and Spain.

Redalyc
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal
Scientific Information System
Biblioteca Virtual de CLACSO
La Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales CLACSO, repositorio digital, ofrece acceso libre a más de 100.000 textos de la red CLACSO y recibe más de un millón de solicitudes por mes en CLACSO y en la colección CLACSO en Redalyc.
BibLat (Bibliografía latinoamericana)
Biblat allows you to search journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean by mining two key databases: CLASE (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades) and PERIODICA (Índice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias).

Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.

The below indices allow you to search and locate the titles of journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean & Iberia. Once you identify a title you're interested in, you can search for it in our library catalog.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Detailed, comprehensive information on serials published throughout the world.
Latindex
Sistema Regional de Información en Línea para Revistas Científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal
CARINDEX
CARINDEX is an index to the contents of West Indian journals published in the Caribbean region. It also includes theses, conference papers and collections of working papers.
CONUCO: Índice de Puerto Rico
An index solely dedicated to journals and e-publications created in Puerto Rico or by Puerto Ricans outside the island. Includes academic, popular, and journalistic periodicals.
LANIC: Academic Journals
Directory of online journals relating to Latin America and the Caribbean. *No longer updated as of 2015.
LANIC: Magazines
A directory of online magazines from and about Latin America and the Caribbean. *No longer updated as of 2015.
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)
Provides access to the tables of contents of 975 journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, most published between 1994 and 2009. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication.

Iberian Databases

Dialnet This link opens in a new window
Created and hosted by the Universidad de La Rioja, Dialnet contains citations and some full text access for over 10,000 scholarly journals from Spain, Portugal, and Latin America. Also included are over 6 million monographs, doctoral theses, proceedings, and other documents.

Boletín bibliográfico - Asociación Hispánica de Literatura Medieval (AHLM)
Article database for U.S. and international publications on medieval Iberian literature.
Revistes Catalenes amb Accés Obert (RACO)
Open-access database with contents from approx. 500 Catalan journals.

Key Journals

Below is a selection of some of the top peer-reviewed journals in the fields of Spanish and Portuguese Literary & Cultural Studies.

This list may be particularly useful to graduate students interested in viewing the kinds of publications deemed significant to the field.

The Latin American Research Review (LARR)
An interdisciplinary journal that publishes original research and surveys of current research on Latin America and the Caribbean. It is the official journal of the Latin American Studies Association (LASA).
Luso-Brazilian Review
Luso-Brazilian Review publishes interdisciplinary scholarship on Portuguese, Brazilian, and Lusophone African cultures, with special emphasis on scholarly works in literature, history, and the social sciences. Each issue of the Luso-Brazilian Review includes articles and book reviews, which may be written in either English or Portuguese.
Hispania
The official journal of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP). Publishes articles on applied linguistics, cultural studies, culture, film, language, linguistics, literary criticism, literature, and pedagogy having to do with Spanish and Portuguese.
Hispanic Review
A quarterly journal devoted to research in Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian literatures and cultures, The journal features essays and book reviews on the diverse cultural manifestations of Iberia and Latin America, from the medieval period to the present.
Revista Hispánica Moderna
RHM is a semiannual peer-reviewed journal committed to the dissemination of outstanding scholarship on Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian literary and cultural studies. It publishes essays and book reviews in Spanish, English, or Portuguese on the full spectrum of Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian cultural production in Europe, Latin America, and the United States, and in all historical periods, from the Middle Ages to the present.
Revista Iberoamericana
La Revista Iberoamericana publica artículos, reseñas y notas bibliográficas sobre literatura, teoría y crítica literaria latinoamericanas en español y portugués. Se publican cuatro números de la RI por año.
Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies is an international peer-reviewed journal that interrogates cultural production and cultural practices in or related to the nations comprised by the Spanish state. It includes articles on any historical period and in or across any cultural discipline, including: literary studies, performing arts, music, visual culture, film, media, intellectual history, philosophy, social analysis, history of science, psychoanalysis, cultural theory, cultural history, material culture, anthropology, religion, popular culture, mass culture, museum studies, tourism, cultural policy.