Library Guides: HISL 2910: Latin American History in Cinema: 1. Secondary Sources

INSTRUCTIONS

Below are select key resources to locate secondary sources, pulled from our larger Latin American Studies Research Guide
Watch the librarian's demonstrations of the different databases and ways to use them
Split into breakout rooms to explore the different databases as a group and add sources to the group Zotero folder
As you go, reflect on the advantages/drawbacks of different discovery tools and prepare to share your thoughts

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia (ORE) of Latin American History offer synopses of key historical topics and themes spanning Latin America and the Caribbean. Each encyclopedia article includes overview information, a discussion of the scholarly literature, a list of key primary sources, links to digital resources, and suggestions for further reading.

HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Includes fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries written by women from Africa and the African Diaspora.

Tulane Library Advanced Search
Allows you to limit searches to specific fields (title, author, subject, place of publication, call number) and fill out multiple search lines.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. View local holdings or borrow from U.S. libraries using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Two different interfaces, the first a more in-depth option via subscription (FirstSearch, via the Tulane University icon link), and the second open-access (WorldCat Local, via the orange OA icon) offer unique user experiences.

Google Books
Use Google Books to do a full-text search of books in their database. If you find something you want, copy the title into our library catalog and see if it's available. If not, order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.