Library Guides: HISL 2910: Latin American History in Cinema: 2. Primary Sources

INSTRUCTIONS

Below are select key digital primary resources for the study of the African diaspora in Latin America & the Caribbean, pulled from our Latin American Studies Research Guide
Watch the librarian's demonstrations of the different databases and ways to use them
Split into breakout rooms to explore the different databases as a group and add sources to the group Zotero folder
Please communicate to work together!

Newspaper Databases

Times-Picayune & Daily Picayune: 1837-2017 (New Orleans, La.) - Readex/Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Access full text and full image of articles from The Picayune, the Daily Picayune, and the Times-Picayune (New Orleans) from 1837 through 2017.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States, including the New Orleans Daily Creole, New Orleans Tribune, Weekly Louisianian and the Weekly Pelican.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access 500+ U.S. newspapers published between 1800 and 1900, many published in what were, at the time, territories. Covers a broad spectrum with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
The URL opens to the World Newspaper Archive's search page for the combined Latin American Newspapers Series 1 & 2 gateway page. Series 1 includes more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers, featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere Series 2 features over 250 Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Latin American Newspapers. Featuring titles from: Belize, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay.

DigitIzation Projects

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. The actual number is estimated to have been as high as 12.5 million. The database and the separate estimates interface offer researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
Slave Societies Digital Archive
hosted at Vanderbilt University, the SSDA is dedicated to identifying, cataloging, and digitally preserving endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World. Its largest and oldest collections were generated by the Catholic Church; the baptismal records preserved in Slave Societies are the oldest and most uniform serial data available for the history of Africans in the Atlantic World and offer the most extensive information regarding their ethnic origins.
The Early Caribbean Digital Archive (ECDA)
Partnered with the Digital Library of the Caribbean (DLOC) and housed in Northeastern University’s NULab for Texts, Maps, and Networks (NULabTMN), the Early Caribbean Digital Archive (ECDA) is a highly interactive digital scholars lab for the collaborative research and study of pre-C20 Caribbean literature.
Digital Aponte
A site dedicated to the life and work of José Antonio Aponte, a free man of color, carpenter, artist, and alleged leader of a massive antislavery conspiracy and rebellion in colonial Cuba in 1811-1812. In this website, you can read an annotated version of the trial record of Aponte’s descriptions of the “book of paintings" and visit the image gallery to investigate the visual culture of turn of the nineteenth-century Havana.
First Blacks in the Americas
The first digital bilingual platform devoted to disseminating the history of the early inhabitants of black-African ancestry of today's Dominican Republic. Project of the CUNY Dominican Studies Institute.

Video

Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Multimedia collection that covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.