Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Orientation to Tulane University Libraries (TUL)

Welcome!

Tulane University Libraries
Office of the Dean


August 15, 2022


Dear faculty colleague,

On behalf of the librarians, archivists, and staff of Tulane University Libraries, welcome to Tulane University and to New Orleans. We are excited that you are joining our community.

As you transition to a new position, institution, and city, you have a lot to manage. Tulane’s librarians and support staff are here to help, whether it’s helping you with research needs or making your students’ academic experiences more successful. Many of our services and resources, including instruction and research consultations, can be delivered remotely. Our online offerings include tens of thousands of journals and databases, over one million e-books, streaming media, and thousands of digital objects in the Tulane University Digital Library (TUDL). They are available 24/7 from your office, classroom, home, or anywhere else you need them. If we do not have something you require, our staff are happy to borrow or purchase what you need as quickly as possible.

Our physical buildings and collections include Howard-Tilton Memorial (H-TML), home to our general collections and The Latin American Library, which is among the world’s foremost collections for Latin American studies. H-TML is open 24/5 during most of the academic year and 24/7 during study and exam times. The Matas Library of the Health Sciences downtown and the Mathematics Library in Gibson Hall offer more specialized services and collections for their constituents; Matas is also open 24/7 for health sciences affiliates. Tulane’s Special Collections, located on the second and third floors of Jones Hall, include the Hogan Archive of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz, the Louisiana Research Collection, the Southeastern Architectural Archive, and Tulane’s university archives, as well as one of the best rare books collections in the southeastern US.

Our librarians offer instruction on finding academic information resources tailored to your teaching needs; individual consultations on locating materials for your research; digital publishing options; and workshops on topics from research data management to patent searching and more. All offerings are available either in person or remotely as needed.

Your suggestions are always welcome. Please feel free to contact your library liaison at any time. Our home page offers plenty of other information as well and is your best source for the latest library news. Once again, welcome to Tulane!

With best regards,


David Banush
Dean of Libraries and Academic Information Resources

• Howard-Tilton Memorial Library (main library uptown)

Tulane University Special Collections (TUSC)

  • Louisiana Research Collection
  • Hogan Archive of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz
  • Rare Books
  • Southeastern Architectural Archive
  • University Archives

Library Off Site Facility (lower-use collections with courier delivery)
Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences (downtown)

  • Applications for new faculty studies can be made by submitting the Faculty Study Application Form online. Available studies are assigned on a first-come, first-serve basis.
  • All faculty studies must be renewed on an annual basis. The deadline to renew will be sent via email. If you are currently assigned a study you must fill out the Faculty Study Application Form for renewal before the deadline. You will be able to retain your current study if you renew by the deadline.
  • All full-time tenure track and emeritus faculty on the Uptown campus, except those faculty members associated with the Law, Business and Medical Schools, are eligible for faculty studies in the Howard-Tilton Memorial Library. See the Faculty Study Application form for Post-Doctoral Faculty availability.
  • Faculty studies are meant primarily for research and scholarship. The studies are not to be used to hold office hours or for storage. Using the study simply for storing books or other materials is not considered an appropriate use. Faculty studies should not be considered personal offices or "belonging" to the faculty member.
  • There is regularly a waiting list for faculty studies. In order to meet this demand, we may ask faculty members to share studies. If you are asked to share your study, please be respectful of other faculty research needs. Faculty should work independently to set up schedules to share the study. If you know someone you would like to share a study with, please make a note on the application. Both faculty must submit an application.
  • If you would like to request a study in the Latin American Library (LAL), please indicate so on the application form.
  • If you are relinquishing your study, please remove all personal items from the study and email htadmin@tulane.edu to set up an appointment to return the key to the Administrative Office. Personal items left in the study will be removed and held by the Administrative Office and held for thirty (30) days. Any keys not returned, unreported damage to the carrels or excessive trash will be charged to the faculty member.

• 4,665,267 print volumes
• 1,327,028 eBooks
• More than 870 databases
• 206,679 digital serials titles (current and ceased)
• 167,142 audio and audio/visual recordings
• Nearly 50,000 linear feet of manuscripts
• Ranked 54th in total materials expenditures among the top 116 university research libraries in North America (ARL)

• General classrooms, Center for Engaged Learning and Teaching (CELT) , the Goldman Center for Student Accessibility, and the Academic Learning & Tutoring Center: basement level
• Learning Commons, book check-out, and technology help: 1st floor
• Study Commons areas: 2nd and 3rd floors
• Knowledge Lab (Scholarly Engagement librarians): 2nd floor
Information Technology (faculty support): 3rd floor
• The Latin American Library and Taylor Center: 4th floor
Government documents and atrium view: 5th floor
Media Services, Microforms, Rare Books, general collections for Art and Architecture: 6th floor
• General collections: floors 1-6

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.