Tulane University Digital Library Metadata Guidelines

Location and ownership information are layered and are very closely related to restrictions on access, restrictions on use, contact, copyright, and citation information. This portion of the guide breaks these ownership and location related fields into sub-groups to address the layers of complicated histories and ownership relationships associated with digital library objects.

When items are uploaded to the digital library, they will also be shared with the Louisiana Digital Library and possibly made searchable through other collaborative digital libraries. For this reason, it is important to include metadata that marks these files as being contributed by Howard-Tilton Memorial Library/Tulane University for TUDL collections. It is also necessary to describe the digital collection to which the items belong.

By default, most ownership/location information about objects in the digital library are expected to describe the digital file uploaded to the digital library. However, in order to fully explain ownership, access, and rights, it is often necessary to describe these in the context of an original item. This is generally the physical item which was digitized to produce the online file, but it could also refer to an authoritative born digital file which was replicated for upload.

If additional fields are needed to fully describe ownership and use of materials, any of the fields that describe a digital file can be duplicated within a related item field. This may occur at the collection (or host) level or at the original (or other format) level. Other related item types are available if they are needed; please contact the metadata librarian for details. When creating these fields, simply be sure to indicate in your field titles which related item you are describing.

Digital Item Ownership and Location

PURL

This required field should be populated after an item is uploaded and should contain the URL for the item being described by this metadata record.

Contributing Repository

This information is required by the Louisiana Digital Library guidelines. The data must describe the Louisiana Digital Consortium member contributing the resource to the Louisiana Digital Library. This must follow a controlled vocabulary established by the LDL, available at ​http://bit.ly/LDCauthorities​. For the spreadsheet, simply record "Tulane University". The additional metadata required for the full record will be added in an automated process.

Digital collection title

This required field should contain the title of the digital collection to which the resource belongs. This will generally be the same as the title given in the project proposal.

Digital collection url

This required field should contain the url of the digital collection to which the resource belongs. This is generated as part of the project proposal acceptance and will be provided by DPI staff.

Uploaded to TUDL by

This field is required. The content will frequently be the same as the physical location of the original object, but in the case that objects which are held within a collaborator's collection and only uploaded by a Tulane affiliate, this field should indicate the group responsible for sponsoring the collection to TUDL.

Choose from the following controlled vocabulary for the contents of this field. If a location must be added to the list or the name of the library or department has changed, please contact the metadata librarian.

Original/Physical Item Ownership and Location

Physical Location

At minimum, the name of the physical location at which the materials are held is required. This field also provides an opportunity to distinguish between different "owners" of the physical items and the digital collection. If a contributing library owns the physical objects, they would be listed under Physical Location while the Tulane Affiliate would be listed under "Contributed to TUDL by".

If the location exists within a hierarchy and multiple levels of that hierarchy need to be described, include all necessary levels in a human-readable string. A URL for this location can also be provided in parentheses. For the locations above, use the exact string as written. To form a new location name or edit the name chosen for an institution, contact the metadata librarian.

Holdings/Copy Information

This is where optional details used to identify the physical item within the holding institution can be recorded. Examples may be an item's relationship to a manuscript or subject collection within a department, box and folder information, call numbers, or barcodes. Contact the metadata librarian for more information.

Finding Aid

This recommended field contains a link to the collection finding aid which describes the manuscript collection to which the original item belongs.

Ownership Note

If the ownership of the objects described is split between multiple entities, an optional field can be added for a human-readable note explaining which entities own or hold particular pieces or aspects of the items described.

Access Conditions

This is where information about restrictions on accessing the physical or original items are placed. If the item is in a closed collection, or the digital surrogates are to be used for research rather than the physical objects, or if the collection is in remote storage, that information can be described. Two specific access condition statements are required if applicable: Use and Reproduction and Rights, but additional access condition examples could include embargoes, IP range limitations, or physical access limitations to the original objects. In some schema, all of the following examples may be encoded as one statement, but recommended practice is to cover them in separate columns of a spreadsheet so that they can be encoded separately when the schema allows for disambiguation between these related concepts.

Rights

Rights statements are required. The rights management statement may encompass intellectual property rights, copyright, and physical rights. It can describe policies on requesting permission to reuse materials and any policies or instructions for requesting reproductions of the materials in the digital library, but ideally this information should be covered in a separate use and reproduction statement. Preferred practice is to use a standardized statement from RightsStatement.org. An alternative acceptable practice is using licenses provided by creative commons or a persistent URL where a master policy is kept. The last resort is to use a locally crafted rights statement.

• This field may be tailored to fit the particular item; however, to the degree possible, this statement should be consistent across collections.
• It should be written in plain language intended for the end-user of a resource and explicitly state if items are in the public domain.
• When using a standardized statement, record the rights statement and rights statement URI in separate columns.
• Another column can be created for an optional rights information field to be used in place of or in addition to the standardized statement, but this is not recommended.

Use and Reproduction

This field is required if applicable. If your items are covered by a use and reproduction policy, it should be referenced here. Recommended practice is to create a use and reproduction document, including a form for submitting a request for use and reproduction, and referencing that URL in this field. An alternative option is to include one of a set of standardized statement about use and reproduction for every item in your collection. The last resort should be crafting a use and reproduction statement customized for this item/collection of items. For an example of a use and reproduction statement, see the Latin American Library: Duplication/Permissions Services page.

Contact Information

Contact information is required by the LDL guidelines. This information is provided to users so that they can contact the repository about a resource. Past examples have included reproduction requests, but could also relate to a take-down request, recommended additions to the metadata, or the desire to learn more about similar holdings. Therefore, this information should allow them to contact a subject specialist. Recommended practice is to use an institutional or department email that is monitored by multiple people or a link to a persistent website with a contact form. If at all possible, do not use a specific individual's contact information. Depending on the schema, contact information may be included in a rights/access condition statement, or it may be a separate element.

Restrictions on Access Note

If there are other restrictions on access, such as an embargo period or IP range limitations or restrictions on the analog object, additional access restrictions can be added. Another optional field of notes on restrictions on access can also be provided. For examples of Restrictions on Access Note, see MARC 21 Bibliographic 506 field.

Preferred Citation

Citations are optional. Enter a formatted bibliographic citation for the item (can be the same throughout the collection). In the future, citations may be created programmatically through an application instead of stored in a metadata file, but for now citations are static. Therefore, recommended practice is to form the citation in the style preferred by the discipline/intended audience described in the project proposal.

For more information about citations, see the citation libguide linked below.

MODS elements for Ownership and Location

Location/physical location authority="oclcorg" type="code" to contain member symbol

Location/physical location xlink:href to contain website

Location/physical location authorityURI="[url of LCNAF, for example]" type="text" to contain name of org, xlink:href to contain URL for location website

<Location><holdingSimple><copyInformation><subLocation> to contain optional department

[mods:location, physical location xlink:href, OCLC member symbol?]

relateditem type="otherFormat" Location/physical location, etc, etc.

<location><url usage="primary display"> For URL of digital object itself. This is required by TUDL because it is required by the DLF/Aquifer Implementation Guidelines for Shareable MODS Records and it is expected that "Aggregators will use the <location><url usage="primary display"> as the primary or—within a short display—the only link for an end user to access the described digital resource."

<holdingSimple><copyInformation><note>

<holdingSimple><copyInformation><shelfLocator>

MODS elements for Rights and Usage

mods:accessCondition @type=’use and reproduction'

mods:accessCondition @type=’restriction on access’

Finding aids: [mods:relatedItem @type='otherFormat'/location/url @note='finding aid']

Contributing Repository [same for any item submitted through Tulane University]

<name type="corporate" authority="naf" authorityURI="http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names"
  valueURI="http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79052231" displayLabel="Contributing Repository">
     <namePart>Tulane University</namePart>
     <role>
          <roleTerm type="text" authority="marcrelator" 
            authorityURI="http://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/relators" 
            valueURI="​http://id.loc.gov/vocabulary/relators/rps​">Repository</roleTerm>
     </role>
</name>

Tulane University Howard-Tilton Memorial Library

<relatedItem type="host">
<location>
     <physicalLocation authority='oclcorg' displayLabel='OCLC Member Symbol'>LRU</physicalLocation>
     <physicalLocation displayLabel='Physical Location'>Tulane University: Howard-Tilton Memorial Library</physicalLocation>
     <url displayLabel='Institution Web Site'>http://library.tulane.edu</url>
</location>
</relatedItem>

Tulane University Howard-Tilton Memorial Library: Architecture Library

<relatedItem type="host">
<location>
     <physicalLocation authority='oclcorg' displayLabel='OCLC Member Symbol'>LRU</physicalLocation>
     <physicalLocation displayLabel='Physical Location'>Tulane University: Howard-Tilton Memorial Library</physicalLocation>
     <url displayLabel='Institution Web Site'>http://library.tulane.edu/libraries/architecture</url>
     <holdingSimple>
          <copyInformation>
               <subLocation>Architecture Library</subLocation>
          </copyInformation>
     </holdingSimple>
</location>
</relatedItem>

Tulane University Howard-Tilton Memorial Library: Hogan Jazz Archive

<relatedItem type="host">
<location>
     <physicalLocation authority='oclcorg' displayLabel='OCLC Member Symbol'>LRU</physicalLocation>
     <physicalLocation displayLabel='Physical Location'>Tulane University: Howard-Tilton Memorial Library</physicalLocation>
     <url displayLabel='Institution Web Site'>http://jazz.tulane.edu</url>
     <holdingSimple>
          <copyInformation>
               <subLocation>Hogan Jazz Archive</subLocation>
          </copyInformation>
     </holdingSimple>
</location>
</relatedItem>

Tulane University Howard-Tilton Memorial Library: Latin American Library

<relatedItem type="host">
<location>
     <physicalLocation authority='oclcorg' displayLabel='OCLC Member Symbol'>LRU</physicalLocation>
     <physicalLocation displayLabel='Physical Location'>Tulane University: Howard-Tilton Memorial Library</physicalLocation>
     <url displayLabel='Institution Web Site'>http://lal.tulane.edu</url>
     <holdingSimple>
          <copyInformation>
                <subLocation>Latin American Library</subLocation>
          </copyInformation>
     </holdingSimple>
</location>
</relatedItem>

Tulane University Howard-Tilton Memorial Library: Louisiana Research Collection

<relatedItem type="host">
<location>
     <physicalLocation authority='oclcorg' displayLabel='OCLC Member Symbol'>LRU</physicalLocation>
     <physicalLocation displayLabel='Physical Location'>Tulane University: Howard-Tilton Memorial Library</physicalLocation>
     <url displayLabel='Institution Web Site'>http://larc.tulane.edu</url>
     <holdingSimple>
          <copyInformation>
               <subLocation>Louisiana Research Collection</subLocation>
          </copyInformation>
     </holdingSimple>
</location>
</relatedItem>

Tulane University Howard-Tilton Memorial Library: Southeastern Architectural Archive

<relatedItem>
<location>
     <physicalLocation authority='oclcorg' displayLabel='OCLC Member Symbol'>LRU</physicalLocation>
     <physicalLocation displayLabel='Physical Location'>Tulane University: Howard-Tilton Memorial Library</physicalLocation>
          <url displayLabel='Institution Web Site'>http://seaa.tulane.edu</url>
     <holdingSimple>
          <copyInformation>
                           <subLocation>Southeastern Architectural Archive</subLocation>
                    </copyInformation>
     </holdingSimple>
</location>
</relatedItem>

Tulane University Howard-Tilton Memorial Library: University Archives

<relatedItem>
<location>
     <physicalLocation authority='oclcorg' displayLabel='OCLC Member Symbol'>LRU</physicalLocation>
     <physicalLocation displayLabel='Physical Location'>Tulane University: Howard-Tilton Memorial Library</physicalLocation>
          <url displayLabel='Institution Web Site'>https://tuarchives.tulane.edu</url>
     <holdingSimple>
          <copyInformation>
                           <subLocation>University Archives</subLocation>
                    </copyInformation>
     </holdingSimple>
</location>
</relatedItem>

Tulane University Howard-Tilton Memorial Library: Matas Library of the Health Sciences

<relatedItem>
<location>
     <physicalLocation authority='oclcorg' displayLabel='OCLC Member Symbol'>LTM</physicalLocation>
     <physicalLocation displayLabel='Physical Location'>Tulane University: Matas Library of the Health Sciences</physicalLocation>
          <url displayLabel='Institution Web Site'>http://matas.tulane.edu</url>
</location>
</relatedItem>

Tulane University: Amistad Research Center

<relatedItem>
<location>
     <physicalLocation authority='oclcorg' displayLabel='OCLC Member Symbol'>LDA</physicalLocation>
     <physicalLocation displayLabel='Physical Location'>Tulane University: Amistad Research Center</physicalLocation>
          <url displayLabel='Institution Web Site'>http://www.amistadresearchcenter.org</url>
</location>
</relatedItem>