Library Guides: Statistics &amp; Data for the Social Sciences: Popular Data Respositories

Directories of Data Repositories

Registry of Research Data Repositories: re3data.org [formerly Databib]
A global registry covering different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
SocioSite: Social Science Data Archives
An inventory of statistics and data from around the world, available on the Internet.

Data Repositories & Data Archives

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. NOTE: off-campus access to some materials may require creating an account, login, and password with ICPSR.

General Social Survey (GSS)
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest.
more...less...
Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
American National Election Studies
The ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. ANES is a collaboration of Stanford University and the University of Michigan, with funding by the National Science Foundation.
Association of Religion Data Archives
Includes American and international data collections about religion.
Correlates of War
A standard source of information on global conflict dynamics, human rights abuses, and geo-political issues. Coverage of individual countries varies. Data collection began in 1963.
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
The Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for all countries for many variables of use to the social scientist researcher.
Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)
Digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.
diversitydata.org
Heller School for Social Policy & Management (Brandeis University)
Identifies metropolitan area indicators of diversity, opportunity, quality of life and health for various racial and ethnic population groups.
more...less...
diversitiydata.org provides values and rankings for the largest U.S. metropolitan areas on different indicators in 8 areas of life (domains), including demographics, education, economic opportunity, housing, neighborhoods, and health. It also provides a simple mapping utility, showing the range of indicator values for metros across the U.S.
IQSS Dataverse Network (Harvard)
The Dataverse Network at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science at Harvard hosts data on social science research from all over the world. The Dataverse Network is an open source application to publish, share, reference, extract and analyze research data.
Journal of Open Archaeology Data
Features peer reviewed data papers describing archaeology datasets with high reuse potential. We work with a number of specialist and institutional data repositories to ensure that the associated data are professionally archived, preserved, and openly available. Equally importantly, the data and the papers are citable, and reuse is tracked.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Founded in 1920, NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
National Congregations Study
An ongoing national survey effort to gather information about the basic characteristics of America's congregations. The study was conducted in 1998, 2006-07, and 2012.
Odum Institute (UNC)
The Odum Institute at the University of North Carolina maintains one of the oldest and largest archives of machine-readable data in the U.S. Almost all of the data files and their associated documentation are downloadable directly from the Institute's Web-based Dataverse Catalog.
Pew Research Center
Includes access to data sets for Pew's many ongoing research projects: People & the Press, Journalism, Hispanic Trends, Global Attitudes, Internet & American Life, Social & Demographic Trends, and Religion & Public Life.
more...less...
Free registration required before downloading data sets.
Policy Agendas Project
The Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War. Data sets include federal legislative, executive, and Supreme Court activity, as well as public opinion, media, and budgets.
Registry of Anthropological Data Wiki
A wide-ranging list of fieldnotes, ethnographic source materials, and data in countless digital and physical archives, produced by scores of anthropologists over the last century.

Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center
TPDRC archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror.
more...less...
Housed at the University of Michigan's ICPSR.
the Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
An international digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship. Users can search tDAR for digital documents, data sets, images, GIS files, and other data resources from archaeological projects spanning the globe.
World Values Survey
WVS is an opinion survey similar to the GSS in questions and topics addressed, but includes representative samples from about 90 countries ranging from post-industrial democracies to developing nations.