Statistics & Data for the Social Sciences

NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) maintains the world's largest climate data archive and provides climatological services and data to every sector of the United States economy and to users worldwide.

NGDC provides stewardship, products and services for geophysical data describing the solid earth, marine, and solar-terrestrial environment, as well as earth observations from space.

The NODC manages the world's largest collection of publicly available oceanographic data. NODC holdings include in situ and remotely sensed physical, chemical, and biological oceanographic data from coastal and deep ocean areas.

---

EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats.

EPA administers the Superfund program in cooperation with individual states and tribal governments. You may use the SEMS Search to retrieve Superfund data from the Superfund Enterprise Management System (SEMS) database in Envirofacts. You can search for any combination of facility name and geographic location.

Maps, images, publications, and data sets on national landscapes, natural resources, and hazards.

---

RSIG also allows users to integrate their selected datasets into a unified visualization.

EOSDIS distributes thousands of Earth system science data products and associated services for interdisciplinary studies. Almost all data in EOSDIS are held on-line and accessed via ftp.

Provides access to data from the U.S. Naval Observatory, Naval Oceanography Operations Commission, and other Naval offices involved in scientific data collection.

Includes air and water quality data, and mercury levels, for different locations in Louisiana.

From the LA Department of Health & Hospitals Center for Community and Preventive Health

Includes real-time and historical data on many of the rivers, streams, and bayous in the state, as well as groundwater, water-quality, and water-use data.

Online database holding nearly 600 different variables, such as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.

The World Bank is one of the key promoters and financiers of environmental upgrading in the developing world. Data here cover forests, biodiversity, emissions, and pollution.

A set of comprehensive and comparable greenhouse gas inventories, together with other climate-relevant indicators.

The core objective of the EEA is to produce European, pan-European and regional integrated environmental data and indicator sets, assessments and thematic analyses in order to provide a sound decision basis for environmental policies in the EU and Member countries and for cooperation with candidate and potential candidate countries and those covered by the European Neighbourhood Policy.

SeaDataNet is a standardized system for managing the large and diverse data sets collected by the oceanographic fleets and the automatic observation systems.

A center within the Earth Institute at Columbia University, CIESIN specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.