Library Guides: Statistics &amp; Data for the Social Sciences: Economics

Directories of Economic Data

The following are additional directories of economic data and statistics available on the Internet.

Resources for Economists (RFE)
An extensive directory of Internet resources for economists, compiled by the American Economics Association (AEA).
more...less...
Includes resources for data sets, software, dictionaries, grant opportunities, job listings, conferences, mailing lists, and more.
Economic Growth Resources
Economic Growth Resources is maintained by Jonathan Temple, Professor in Economics at the University of Bristol, UK. Originally created in 1995 to help growth researchers make the most of the internet.
Williams College: Economics Research & Data
Provides links to help students and faculty conduct economic research and find economic research papers and data.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. NOTE: off-campus access to some materials may require creating an account, login, and password with ICPSR.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Founded in 1920, NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.

EuroStat
Official statistical and demographic data of the European Union. EuroStat provides the European Union with detailed statistics on the EU and candidate countries that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Monthly statistics from the International Monetary Fund.

LABORSTA (Labor Statistics)
Covers official core labour statistics and estimates for over 200 countries since 1969. Also provides methodological descriptions of main national statistical sources.
Produced by the International Labor Organization (ILO) a division of the United Nations.
Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS)
Research project started in 1980 by the Development Economics Research Group (DECRG) to explore ways of improving the type and quality of household data collected by statistical offices in developing countries.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Includes content published by International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF)

United Nations Statistical Databases
The United Nations provides free access to over 15 UN statistical databases.
World Bank - Data
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe.