Special Collections Guide: Environmental History in Latin America & the Caribbean

1930s-1970s. Photographs of colonial architecture of Peru, also colonial art and archaeological sites; much documentation of earthquake damage in Lima. 4332 pieces.

1930, February 25-October 3. The album contains 110 photos taken in Santo Domingo in the Dominican Republic. It shows many aspects of urban life: street scenes, transportation, public buildings and monuments, mass public occasions, troop formations, bridges, docks, "revolucionarios," Presidents Vazquez and Trujillo, and numerous photos of the physical damage and casualties of the hurricane which struck the city on September 3, 1930. Each photo is dated and described in detail on the reverse.

Circa 1950. 24 leaves/oversize. Original photographs of the campus and buildings of the Universidad de Concepción, with views showing earthquake damage.

1875-1930. Postcards showing the destruction in Guatemala City after the earthquakes of December 25 and 29, 1917; and January 24, 1918. Also includes photoprints of postcards of Guatemala as early as 1875. 21 pieces.

1950. Photographs of the colonial architecture of Antigua, Guatemala, archaeological sites and colonial architecture of Mexico, colonial architecture and pre-Columbian art of Panama, architecture of Spain. Three examples of the collection are below (Church and Plaza, Antigua; Courtyard and Fountain, Antigua; and Templo de Quetzalcoatl, Teotihuacán). Approximately 3200 pieces.

1875. Copy prints of original Eadweard Muybridge photographs of colonial architecture and daily life in Central America. 142 pieces.

El Palacio is a periodical put out by the Museum of New Mexico and the Archaeological Society of New Mexico that focuses on the archaeology of the Southwest.

The Latin American Library holds rare printed newspapers from 22 countries. The inventory below includes printed newspaper holdings from each country housed ine the Libray's Rare and Closed Stacks locations. This inventory will be updated periodically when new titles are added. This list does not include print newspapers stored in the Offsite location, holdings on microfilm, or in digital collections

1971-1972. Transcriptions of taped conversations in Spanish and Quechua between Bode and survivors of the 1970 earthquake in Huaraz, Peru, used as basis for her Ph.D. dissertation. 51 pieces.

1534-1919. Some 3,000 dossiers relating principally to late colonial Mexico (1770-1820), originating in the offices of the Viceroy, Real Audiencia, and bishops of New Spain. Included are church records and inventories, censuses, notarial files, laws and decrees, civil and ecclesiastical suits, and land disputes, with many documents that concern Indian affairs and problems with the church.

1920s-2010. Papers of this art historian, archaeologist, artist, teacher, and writer. Includes material related to the study of the ancient Maya gathered and produced over a lifetime of activity in the field. The material includes correspondence, publications, photographic material, rubbings, line drawings, art work, and information on exhibits and conferences.

1723-1927. Documents from Chiapas, Mexico, and Guatemala, largely collected by Flavio A. Paniagua: 18th and 19th century manuscripts, printed ephemera, and 44 bound volumes of 19th and 20th century laws and decrees, statistics, and newspapers. It includes documentation on the founding of Salto de Agua, the conversion of the Lacandón Indians, a Chamula Indian uprising, folk medicine, and church and political affairs. 420 pieces.

May 4, 1939-April 22, 1945. Letters of this freelance writer to her parents during her six-year residence in Lima, Peru, with her husband who worked for Panagra airline. Describes the daily life of Americans in Peru during World War II, trips within Peru and to Bolivia and Chile, earthquakes, highway construction, and archaeological sites. 88 letters; 9 enclosures.