Special Collections Guide: Environmental History in Latin America & the Caribbean
Research guide to primary sources from the Latin American Library's Special Collections for historical research on the dynamic relationship between people and the environment across Latin America and the Caribbean.
1906. Photographs taken during a quarantine tour of inspection of Central American fruit ports by United States health authorities as guests of the United Fruit Co. Public and domestic buildings, local bands and hospitals. 35 pieces.
The Latin American Library holds rare printed newspapers from 22 countries. The inventory below includes printed newspaper holdings from each country housed ine the Libray's Rare and Closed Stacks locations. This inventory will be updated periodically when new titles are added. This list does not include print newspapers stored in the Offsite location, holdings on microfilm, or in digital collections
Donald Cooper Papers, 1965-1966, LARC Collection 176
The collection consists of copies of correspondence used as research for Donald Cooper's publications, as well as manuscripts, printer's copies, galley proofs, and a published copy of one of these publications. Reference materials used to produce The Establishment of the Anglican Church in the Leeward Islands and Epidemic Disease in Mexico City, 1761-1813: An Administrative, Social, and Medical Study, are represented in this collection. Donald B. Cooper was an Assistant Professor of History at Newcomb College.
1900-1926. Correspondence, reports, questionnaires, clippings, and other printed matter relating to Hoffman, statistician for Prudential Life Insurance. Materials show his interest in diseases and the effects of climate on health as indicated in reports from Mexico. Also includes correspondence about his travel in Mexico and South America. 34 pieces.
1723-1927. Documents from Chiapas, Mexico, and Guatemala, largely collected by Flavio A. Paniagua: 18th and 19th century manuscripts, printed ephemera, and 44 bound volumes of 19th and 20th century laws and decrees, statistics, and newspapers. It includes documentation on the founding of Salto de Agua, the conversion of the Lacandón Indians, a Chamula Indian uprising, folk medicine, and church and political affairs. 420 pieces.
1875-1959 (Collection 20) and Contemporary Central American Printed Ephemera Collection: 1960-present (Collection 74)
These two extensive collections of ephemeral materials of unusual historical interest continue to grow as the library acquires new pieces. The first collection includes hundreds of rare early 19th century broadsides, political pronouncements, edicts and decrees, national constitutions, tracts, and other unique items of a political nature that are often not to be found in any other format. The contemporary collection contains similar materials that mirror current developments in the Isthmus and represent differing sides of the political spectrum.