Special Collections Guide: Environmental History in Latin America & the Caribbean
Research guide to primary sources from the Latin American Library's Special Collections for historical research on the dynamic relationship between people and the environment across Latin America and the Caribbean.
"Early Images of Latin America" currently contains over 1,800 digital images from the Latin American Library’s Image Archive documenting people, places, landscapes, urban and rural scenes in countries from across Latin America and the Caribbean. They date from the late 19th century to c. 1910.
Search the Early Images Collection using the subject term "Mining". More images can be viewed in their original formats at the Latin American Library.
The Latin American Library holds rare printed newspapers from 22 countries. The inventory below includes printed newspaper holdings from each country housed ine the Libray's Rare and Closed Stacks locations. This inventory will be updated periodically when new titles are added. This list does not include print newspapers stored in the Offsite location, holdings on microfilm, or in digital collections
Collection 94. 1957-1958. Blueprints, letters, specifications, and newsletters relating to the facilities being built by the Moa Bay Mining Company (a subsidiary of the Cuban American Nickel Company) at Moa Bay, Cuba, for the mining and concentration of nickel and cobalt. 48 pieces.
1534-1919. Some 3,000 dossiers relating principally to late colonial Mexico (1770-1820), originating in the offices of the Viceroy, Real Audiencia, and bishops of New Spain. Included are church records and inventories, censuses, notarial files, laws and decrees, civil and ecclesiastical suits, and land disputes, with many documents that concern Indian affairs and problems with the church.
Legajo 22, Expediente 14
This document concerns the plans for a trapiche to crush ore.
Requires some expertise in reading colonial documents in Spanish.
Consultation and reproduction from microfilm (MIC 3062) is recommended.