Special Collections Guide: Environmental History in Latin America & the Caribbean
Research guide to primary sources from the Latin American Library's Special Collections for historical research on the dynamic relationship between people and the environment across Latin America and the Caribbean.
"Early Images of Latin America" currently contains over 1,800 digital images from the Latin American Library’s Image Archive documenting people, places, landscapes, urban and rural scenes in countries from across Latin America and the Caribbean. They date from the late 19th century to c. 1910.
Search the Early Images Collection using the subject term "Mining". More images can be viewed in their original formats at the Latin American Library.
Report on Public Works in the Dominican Republic, November 30, 1921, Album 30
Prepared by U.S. military government, on public works in the Dominican Republic from 1908-1921 consisting of 3 maps and 74 photographs of the works accomplished, with descriptions on facing pages, and reports on the roads in 1921 and public works expenditures by year. 165 pages.
"Visit to South America" Album (Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay), Album 23
1909. 26 leaves. Leather album of a Briton, (initials C.H.M), of photographs taken on an ocean voyage to Brazil, Uruguay and Argentina, including Buenos Aires and Rio de Janeiro with views of harbors, railroads, dams, power plants, water works, and shipboard activities. All photos are identified. See contents record.
The Latin American Library holds rare printed newspapers from 22 countries. The inventory below includes printed newspaper holdings from each country housed ine the Libray's Rare and Closed Stacks locations. This inventory will be updated periodically when new titles are added. This list does not include print newspapers stored in the Offsite location, holdings on microfilm, or in digital collections
Please see Rare Books module for finding information for Gorin's dissertation.
Compañía de Navegación del Río Motagua. Erección de la Compania de Navegación del Río Motagua, 1796, Collection 50(59)
1 volume, 17 leaves (34 pages), 4 appendices. Copy of the proceedings which created a joint stock company to develop and promote navigation on the Motagua River from the Honduran port of Omoa. The manuscript includes a report by the Secretary of Guatemala's Consulado concerning the venture, the list of the company's stockholders and officials, the company's thirty-five articles of incorporation and a series of reflections about the project by those commissioned to head it.
May 4, 1939-April 22, 1945. Letters of this freelance writer to her parents during her six-year residence in Lima, Peru, with her husband who worked for Panagra airline. Describes the daily life of Americans in Peru during World War II, trips within Peru and to Bolivia and Chile, earthquakes, highway construction, and archaeological sites. 88 letters; 9 enclosures.
The collection consists of documents in English relating to the efforts of Commander Bedford Pim of the British Navy to advance the interests of Great Britain in Central America through the construction of a proposed railroad across Nicaragua from the Atlantic coast to the Pacific. 6 pieces.