Fire Insurance Maps online (FIMo), is Historical Information Gatherers' research portal to find and view high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps for Louisiana showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information.
Access large-scale maps of Louisiana towns and cities. Manipulate maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.
Using Sanborn MapsQuick guide to using the Sanborn Maps database, available through Tulane University Libraries.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Collection (TUSC)This collection includes fire insurance maps made by the Sanborn Map Company: 46 volumes of the maps are for New Orleans and cover 1876–1940s (updated through the 1960s). The two volumes for 1876 are the earliest Sanborns for New Orleans, and the only known copies. There are also 24 volumes for other cities in Louisiana and 14 volumes for cities in Mississippi.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (1876 New Orleans)Volumes one and two of the 1876, New Orleans, Louisiana, Sanborn Fire Insurance Atlas represent the earliest and only known copies of forty fire insurance maps for this locality and era. Originally bound in two volumes of twenty maps each, the maps feature individual city blocks in New Orleans, Louisiana. Data depicted includes where buildings were located, how they were laid out on each property, and the materials from which they were constructed. The buildings are color coded to indicate those materials, while symbols and notes provide additional information. The maps are drawn to a scale large enough to show the layouts of the buildings in considerable detail, as each map measures 27 x 36 inches.
Braun New Orleans Fire Insurance AtlasesThree fire insurance atlases for the city of New Orleans, Louisiana. Coverage of the Fourth District (1874 and 1877) and the Third District (1877). Collection 123 of the Southeastern Architectural Archive.
Robinson New Orleans Fire Insurance AtlasThis collection includes one fire insurance atlas for the city of New Orleans, Louisiana, which covers the entire city at the time of 1883 and illustrates blocks with buildings of individual properties. Buildings are color coded to indicate which materials were used in their construction.
A collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. Includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.
Social Explorer “contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data”. It can be used to locate census tract boundary information from 1940 to the present.