Library Guides: Historic Preservation Library Guide: Louisiana News Sources

Louisiana News Sources

Long considered the paper of record in New Orleans, the Times-Picayune is the descendant of the Daily Picayune, which began publication in 1837, and later merged with the Times-Democrat in 1914.

Times-Picayune Collection: 20th Century (New Orleans) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes Times-Picayune content from 1989 to the present. Allows you to search and browse full-color scans of the print editions of the Times-Picayune, as well as Web Edition articles published on nola.com.
Times-Picayune & Daily Picayune: 1837-2017 (New Orleans, La.) - Readex/Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Access full text and full image of articles from The Picayune, the Daily Picayune, and the Times-Picayune (New Orleans) from 1837 through 2017.

Obituary Notices (Times-Picayune)
Times-Picayune Family Tree
A chart illustrating the publication history of the Times-Picayune (1837 - current).

Index to the Times-Picayune

1837-1988: Full-text is searchable via America's Historical Newspapers database
1989‐present: Full-text is searchable via NewsBank database
1930s‐1950s: Louisiana Division, New Orleans Public Library (Coverage is incomplete for this print index)
1960s‐1972: There is no index available.
1972‐present: Jefferson Parish Library has index.
1976‐present: Loyola University Library has index.
1976‐2003; 2004-2008: Tulane Microforms & Newspapers has index.

The long-running Baton Rouge Advocate expanded into the New Orleans market in October 2012 after the Times-Picayune announced a reduced print publication schedule. The Advocate continues to publish Baton Rouge and Lafayette editions.

Advocate (Baton Rouge, La)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Accessible via database (1986- current) or website (current issues only). Use the linked icons above to identify formats, holdings, and locations.
more...less...
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/tulane.edu?url=http%3A%2F%2Finfoweb.newsbank.com%2Fresources%2Fsearch%2Fnb%3Fp%3DAWNB%26t%3Dpubname%253ALSAB

http://infoweb.newsbank.com/resources/search/nb?p=AWNB&t=pubname%3ALSAB
New Orleans Advocate
Search and browse text of the New Orleans Advocate from 2011 to current issues. This database includes all content published on nola.com.
Acadiana Advocate
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Accessible via database (2013- current) or website (current issues only). Use the linked icons above to identify formats, holdings, and locations.
Advocate Family Tree (LSU Libraries)
A chart illustrating the publication history of the Advocate newspaper (1842 - current).

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: New Orleans
Library of Congress list of newspapers published in New Orleans
El Tiempo (New Orleans)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bilingual, monthly newspaper born out of a need for print media targeting the local Hispanic community after hurricane Katrina. First published in May 2006.
The Lens (New Orleans, La.)
A nonprofit, nonpartisan public-interest newsroom since 2009. Aims to engage and empower the residents of New Orleans and the Gulf Coast by providing information and analysis necessary to advocate for more accountable and just governance. Specializes in reporting on schools, land use & environment, and criminal justice issues.
Louisiana Weekly (New Orleans, La)
- This link opens in a new window
Emphasizes topics of interest to the African American community, especially in the New Orleans area and south Louisiana since 1925. Online archive 2011-. Print holdings available in the Louisiana Research Collection.
Mid-City Messenger (New Orleans, La)
A local, independent online source of news, commerce and knowledge for Mid-City New Orleans. Launched in January of 2013, it is modeled on the same neighborhood-based style of news coverage as its sibling website, UptownMessenger.com.
N.O.sotros (New Orleans, La) [2001-2005]
Spanish language news source for the Hispanic population of New Orleans. Print copies from 2001-2004 are available in the archives of the Louisiana Research Collection.
New Orleans Bee / L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-Orléans
The New Orleans Public Library has digitized issues from this French-language New Orleans newspaper (1823-1925), which also published editions in English and Spanish published for certain years.
New Orleans CityBusiness
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers New Orleans business news, including banking, health care, economic development, commercial real estate, high-tech industries, and community events. Database coverage: 1985 - present (delayed 1 week).
New Orleans Tribune
The modern New Orleans Tribune, founded in 1985, continues the legacy of its historic predecessor, among the first Black daily newspapers in the United States.
NOPL Newspaper Collection, 1787-1974
Most holdings are available on microfilm in the Louisiana Division reading room at NOPL.
Uptown Messenger (New Orleans, La)
A local, independent online source of news, commerce and knowledge for Uptown New Orleans that had its formal launch in September 2010.
Vieux Carré Courier
Started in 1961 as a newspaper for French Quarter residents, this publication eventually gained a larger audience throughout the Greater New Orleans area.
Vocero USA Magazine (Baton Rouge, La) [2005-2011]
A national magazine published in New Orleans. The magazine replaced the bi-weekly newspaper Vocero (2002-2005), which ceased publication following hurricane Katrina.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Louisiana
Library of Congress list of newspapers published in Louisiana
Louisiana News (Louisiana.gov)
Louisiana Newspapers (LSU Libraries Special Collections)
Extensive guide to researching and accessing Louisiana newspapers in print, microform, and digital formats at LSU and other libraries. Includes microfilm indexes and family trees for Louisiana Newspapers.
Louisiana Newspapers Family Trees (LSU Libraries)
Some Louisiana newspapers have complicated publishing histories. They have changed titles, merged with other newspapers, split into different titles, and been published in various editions with slightly different titles and different frequencies. This makes it difficult to trace their publication through time. "Family trees" provide a graphic way of seeing these connections.
Louisiana Newspapers Online (Best of the Web)

Bayou State Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
A subject index to articles in nearly ninety Louisiana periodicals published between 1958 and today. The database can be searched by keyword, subject heading, author or title.

Greater Baton Rouge Business Report
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of the Baton Rouge business scene since 1982. Click the TU icon to search text from 1986 to 2009 via ABI/Inform Complete database. Click the globe icon to visit the publication's current website.

Spanish Language Press in New Orleans: A Guide
by The Latin American Library Last Updated Jan 25, 2021 0 views this year

Weekly Press (Baton Rouge, La)
A self-described "people's publication" and "number one minority newspaper in The Greater Baton Rouge," the Weekly Press has served the public for over 40 years.

Louisiana Newspapers (Louisiana Digital Library)
Discover digitized newspapers from across Louisiana. Allows you to search by keyword and browse by parish.
Louisiana Newspapers (Newsbank-Access World News)
Search thirty-six current and ceased newspapers in digital format, from the 1980's to present. Part of Newsbank's Access World News collection.

Louisiana newspapers included in this database include:

Abbeville Meridional 03/26/2008-07/03/2010 (Abbeville)
Advocate, The 01/01/1986-Current (Baton Rouge)
Alexandria Examiner 08/04/2010-Current (Alexandria)
American Press 09/14/2002-10/28/2008 (Lake Charles)
Bastrop Daily Enterprise 01/08/2001-Current (Bastrop)
Baton Rouge Examiner 04/09/2009-Current (Baton Rouge)
Beauregard Daily News 02/13/2001-Current (De Ridder)
Crowley Post-Signal, The 03/04/2008-07/01/2010 (Crowley)
Daily Iberian, The 10/16/2001-Current (New Iberia)
Daily News, The 01/02/2000-Current (Bogalusa)
Daily Review, The 05/04/2006-Current (Morgan City)
Donaldsonville Chief, The 06/11/2008-Current (Donaldsonville)
Franklin Banner-Tribune, The 12/04/2006-Current (Franklin)
Gonzales Weekly Citizen 02/21/2001-Current (Ascension)
Kaplan Herald 07/31/2008-07/01/2010 (Kaplan)
L'Observateur 01/04/1998-Current (La Place)
Lafayette Examiner 07/13/2009-Current (Lafayette)
Lake Charles Examiner 12/09/2009-Current (Lake Charles)
Leesville Daily Leader, The 02/12/2001-Current (Leesville)
Monroe Examiner 12/23/2009-Current (Monroe)
New Orleans Examiner 09/28/2008-Current (New Orleans)
Plaquemine Post South 04/06/2009-Current (Plaquemine)
Shreveport Examiner 08/14/2009-Current (Shreveport)
Southwest Daily News 02/14/2001-Current (Sulphur)
St. Tammany News 08/04/1996-Current (Covington)

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.

Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project (DLNP) - LSU
LSU Libraries' Digitizing Louisiana Newspaper Project (DLNP) offers 128 titles from the state of Louisiana published between 1836 through 1922. The DLNP platform allows you to search and access newspapers by Title, Parish, Decade, Historically Black, and Multi-Language Titles. Includes topic guides and other resources.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States, including the New Orleans Daily Creole, New Orleans Tribune, Weekly Louisianian and the Weekly Pelican.

Black Republican 1865
Community Leader 1985
Concordia Eagle 1875 to 1883
Echo 1873
Inside New Orleans 1965
L'Union 1862 to 1864
New Orleans Daily Creole 1856
New Orleans Tribune 1864 to 1869
Observer 1900
Weekly Louisianian 1870 to 1882
Weekly Pelican 1886 to 1889

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.

Abeja 1829 to 1831 (Hispanic American)
Black Republican 1865 (African American)
Community Leader 1885 (African American)
Concordia Eagle 1875 to 1883 (African American)
Courrier de la Louisiane 1821 to 1824
Daily Delta 1846 to 1863
Daily True Delta 1857 to 1864
Echo 1873 (African American)
Inside New Orleans 1965 (African American)
Jeffersonian 1842
Jeffersonian Republican 1844 to 1847
Louisiana Advertiser 1820 to 1827
Louisiana Herald 1819 to 1820
Louisiana Planter 1810
Louisiana Rambler 1818
Louisiana State Gazette 1825 to 1826 includes: La Gazette d'etat de la Louisiane
Louisianian 1819 to 1820
L'Union 1862 to 1864 (African American)
Mexicano 1813 (Hispanic American)
Misisipi 1808 (Hispanic American)
New Orleans Argus 1828 to 1832
New Orleans Daily Creole 1856 (African American)
New Orleans Item 1877 to 1922
New Orleans States 1916 to 1922
New Orleans Times 1865 to 1878
New Orleans Tribune 1864 to 1869 (African American)
New Orleans Weekly Times 1865 to 1867
Observer 1900 (African American)
Orleans Gazette & Commercial Advertiser 1805 to 1819
Orleans Gazette 1805 to 1819
Sunday Delta 1856 to 1860
Times Picayune (and Daily Picayune) 1837 to 1988
True Delta 1862
Weekly Louisianian 1870 to 1882 (African American)
Weekly Pelican 1886 to 1889 (African American)

Civil War Era: Newspapers and Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Proquest Civil War Era Includes the earliest editions of the Daily Picayune (later Times-Picayune) from 1840 to 1865 and other important American newspapers and pamphlets from the antebellum and Civil War period: The Boston Herald (1846-1865); The Charleston Mercury (1840-1865); The Columbus Gazette (1856-1865); The Daily Dispatch (1852-1865); The Daily Ohio State Journal (1841-1841); Daily Ohio State Journal (1849-1853); The Daily Picayune (1840-1865); The Louisville Daily Journal (1840-1865); Memphis Daily Appeal (1847-1865); Morning Herald (1840-1840); The New York Herald (1840-1865); Ohio State Journal (1840-1841); and Weekly Ohio State Journal (1841-1849).

Daily Picayune 1840-1865

Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to 1980 as recorded by the news media. It is sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals.

Mexicano 1813
Abeja 1829 to 1831
Misisipi 1808

Illustrated Civil War: Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Illustrated Civil War includes 23 pro-union titles, 11 pro-confederate titles, 15 campaign newspapers, and 600 letters and diaries, complete with illustrations, cartoons, and searchable text. Among the 19th-century newspapers and magazines included are Douglass' Monthly, Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, Harper's Weekly, Atlantic Monthly, and Vanity Fair.

Louisiana Signal 1860
DeBow’s Review 1860-1864

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access 500+ U.S. newspapers published between 1800 and 1900, many published in what were, at the time, territories. Covers a broad spectrum with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.

New-Orleans Commercial Bulletin 1833-1836, 1844-1868
Orleans Gazette, and Commercial Advertiser 1805-1820
Southwestern Christian Advocate 1877-1899
Louisiana Advertiser 1826-1828
Daily Picayune 1861-1899

Louisiana History: The Journal of the Louisiana Historical Association
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online coverage in JSTOR: 1960 to most current issue.
Louisiana - History - Periodicals
Catalog records for periodical publications on Louisiana history held at Tulane.
Louisiana - Periodicals
New Orleans (La.) -- History -- Periodicals
New Orleans (La.) -- Periodicals

Bayou State Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
A subject index to articles in nearly ninety Louisiana periodicals published between 1958 and today. The database can be searched by keyword, subject heading, author or title.

Newspapers on Microflim at Tulane University

Newspapers Available in Howard-Tilton Memorial Library on Microfilm
Includes full run on microfilm of the Times-Picayune from 1914 to the present.

US Newspapers Directory

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
Search America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.