Library Guides: Emergency &amp; Security Studies Library Guide: Find Articles

Emergency management and national security studies are often interrelated, and are certainly interdisciplinary. However, most databases and journal articles are not. Instead, they collect articles from a single discipline such as public policy, medicine, or criminal justice studies. Use the tabs below to discover recommended databases organized around these related disciplines.

Looking for Journal Articles?

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Areas of public concern and potential legislation, including health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics and more. Includes articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. 1914 - present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Updated monthly.

Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Researchers seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more will find Social Work Abstracts to be an indispensable resource.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in psychology. Also includes psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text for nursing & allied health journal literature.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Covers health topics in developing and developed countries world-wide including communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, medical entomology, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants. 1910 - present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology from around the world.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as to enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.

National Security Archive - Electronic Briefing Books
In independent institute at George Washington University which publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The Electronic Briefing Books archive provides online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security.
St. Mary's University Center for Terrorism Law - Publications
St. Mary University in San Antonio, Texas Center for Terrorism Law publishes law review articles, monographs and other professional papers on legal issues associated with terrorism. Many of these documents are freely available through their website.

The following may help you navigate research specific to military issues:

Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers Military, Government, and Criminal Justice.
Air University Library: Index to Military Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes significant articles, news items, and editorials from English-language military and aeronautical periodicals. Contains citations since 1990 and is updated quarterly.

Getting full-text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text, click on the TU Link button: . This will search through the library's full-text holdings in other databases and give you a link to the full-text of the article. If there is no online access, there's a link to the library catalog to see if we have the full-text in print.

Interlibrary Loan
If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.

National Security & Emergency Management

To learn more about the study of homeland security & emergency management at Tulane, visit the following program websites:

Emergency & Security Studies Library Guide

Social Sciences Librarian

Looking for Journal Articles?

Getting full-text

National Security & Emergency Management