Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
URL:
Access full-text, high-quality scholarly content (journals and books) in the humanities and social sciences as published by select leading university presses and scholarly societies.
The U.S. census counts each resident of the country, where they live on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. The Constitution mandates the enumeration to determine how to apportion the House of Representatives among the states. Includes some of the census information from 1790-2010.
The World Factbook provides basic information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world and for the public and private sector organizations with global operations and interests.
The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.
The Encyclopedia is the most wide-ranging reference work of its kind, combining theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.
Since the Encyclopædia Britannica's founding in 1768, Britannica editors have gathered and organized information on thousands of topics for easy retrieval.
American Society for the History of RhetoricASHR's goal is to promote the study of both the theory and practice of rhetoric in all periods and languages and its relationship with poetics, politics, religion, law, and other cultural influences.
International Society for the History of RhetoricThe International Society for the History of Rhetoric promotes the study of both the theory and practice of rhetoric in all periods and languages and the relationship of rhetoric to poetics, literary theory and criticism, philosophy, politics, religion, law and other aspects of the cultural context.
Rhetoric Society of AmericaRSA defines rhetoric quite broadly as the study of rhetorical theories, praxes, criticism, and pedagogies that help us to understand (1) how discourses construct our perceptions of the world around us, including people, texts, institutions, and cultures, (2) how we may employ rhetorical theories and tactics to facilitate critical thinking as we analyze the world around us via reading, writing, speaking, and listening, and (3) how rhetorical theories and tactics may help us compose our own texts in ways that persuade our audiences to agree or, at least, to give us a fair hearing.
This link opens in a new window
