Library Guides: Communication Library Guide: Communication

Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Access to articles in the field of communication and mass media.
ComINDEX Online
Access articles specific to Communication Studies.

Data.census.gov
Access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
Decennial Census of Population and Housing
The U.S. census counts each resident of the country, where they live on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. The Constitution mandates the enumeration to determine how to apportion the House of Representatives among the states. Includes some of the census information from 1790-2010.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Contains cumulative historical statistics for the United States from 1789-2000.

International Encyclopedia of Communication Online
The definitive reference source in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field.

International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
Offers essays on key topics in media studies by leading researchers and practitioners in the field.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Provides a comprehensive overview of the people, theories, and practices of communication studies.
Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication, and Media
Provides extensive essays exploring the key issues and concepts of the religion-communications interface.
Encyclopedia of New Media
A collection of essays that examines concepts, contexts, and trends in new media studies.
Dictionary of Media and Communications
This resource covers basic ideas, concepts, people, theories, and technical trends in the field of media and communication.