Library Guides: Communication Library Guide: Communication

Databases

Communication Studies
Polls & Stats

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to articles in the field of communication and mass media.
ComINDEX Online This link opens in a new window
Access articles specific to Communication Studies.

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
Decennial Census of Population and Housing This link opens in a new window
The U.S. census counts each resident of the country, where they live on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. The Constitution mandates the enumeration to determine how to apportion the House of Representatives among the states. Includes some of the census information from 1790-2010.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Contains cumulative historical statistics for the United States from 1789-2000.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Online

International Encyclopedia of Communication Online This link opens in a new window
The definitive reference source in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field.

International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
Offers essays on key topics in media studies by leading researchers and practitioners in the field.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Provides a comprehensive overview of the people, theories, and practices of communication studies.
Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication, and Media
Provides extensive essays exploring the key issues and concepts of the religion-communications interface.
Encyclopedia of New Media
A collection of essays that examines concepts, contexts, and trends in new media studies.
Dictionary of Media and Communications
This resource covers basic ideas, concepts, people, theories, and technical trends in the field of media and communication.

European Institute for Communication and Culture The European Institute for Communication and Culture (Euricom) is a non-profit organisation registered under Slovene law, whose purpose is to further research and publication in the general areas of mass communication, media studies, and cultural studies. In keeping with its unique position bridging the two parts of the formerly divided Europe, Euricom is particularly concerned with the relationship of the mass media to issues of democracy and democratisation.
Organization for Research on Women and Communication The Organization for Research on Women and Communication (ORWAC) promotes dialogue, discussion, research, and scholarship concerned with women, feminism, gender, oppression, and social change. ORWAC is a Western States Communication Association (WSCA) affiliate, publishes a journal: Women’s Studies in Communication, and sponsors programs at the WSCA convention.
International Institute of Communication The International Institute of Communications (IIC),established in 1969, provides senior professionals across the communications industry with the prospect of intellectually open and thought-provoking debate within a forum that analyses market and policy developments around the world. As a leading independent membership organisation focused on global telecommunications, media and digital media policy and regulation, and their impact on business and society, the IIC offers the opportunity to share experiences between practising communications professionals, policymakers, regulators and academics.

American Communication Association (ACA) The ACA is a not-for-profit virtual professional association with actual presence in the world of communication scholars and practitioners.
Asociación Latinoamericana de Investigadores de la Comunicación A Associação LatinoAmericana de Investigadores em Comunicação – ALAIC – foi fundada em novembro de 1978, em Caracas, Venezuela. Ela surgiu graças à iniciativa de um grupo de pesquisadores (Antonio Pasquali, Luis Ramiro Beltrán, Jesus Martín-Barbero, Alejandro Alfonso, Marco Ordoñez, entre outros), que vislumbraram a importância e a necessidade da comunidade acadêmica de comunicação na América Latina se articular.
Association for Women in Communications The Association for Women in Communications is the one organization that recognizes the complex relationships that exist across communications disciplines. Modern communicators must demonstrate competence in varied disciplines and be able to network and make career moves across the broad spectrum of communications fields.
International Association of Communication (ICA) ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.
National Communication Association (NCA) The National Communication Association advances communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific and aesthetic inquiry.
Southern States Communication Associations Our purpose is to promote the study, criticism, research, teaching, and application of the artistic, humanistic, and scientific principles of communication. SSCA, a not-for-profit organization, exists for educational, scientific, and literary purposes only.
World Communication Association WCA members are convinced that to maintain peace throughout the world there must be a mutual understanding among people of the world that grows for individual and group interaction.

Communication Library Guide

Librarian

Ask the Library

Databases

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Recommended Websites & Associations