There are many benefits to searching within a subject-specific database including:
All articles in a database will be related to your discipline of interest. Less time will be spent ignoring unrelated or irrelevant articles
Less likely to miss out on any key articles on your topic
Subject headings will allow you to search the main topic of an article instead of just matching words (keywords)
Abstracts, keywords, and subject headings help you quickly determine if the article is useful
Databases will allow you to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals, which can take some of the guess work out of identifying which journals you can use
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.
All aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues.
Complete collection of bibliographic references, covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally.
Provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience
Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences.
Connect with Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a great tool for completing citations, locating known articles (e.g., from a Reference list or provided by a teacher), and for cited reference searching.
This link opens in a new window
