Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Guides at Tulane University Tulane University Libraries Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Citation and Research Management Tools

A library guide to citation and bibliographic management tools that help you collect, store, and organize your research.

Why Use Citation and Bibliography Tools?

Citation and bibliography management tools help you collect, organize, and retrieve citations you find during your research. Many can even work with your word-processing software to help format your final document via footnotes, endnotes, in-text citations, and bibliography creation.

Tulane University Libraries provides support for: 

  • Endnote Online and EndNote X9 Desktop(Campus-wide subscription)
  • RefWorks (Campus-wide subscription)
  • Mendeley (Free)
  • Zotero (Free and Open Source)

How to Choose a Tool

Which tool is best for you? Use the chart below to assess your needs. For additional help choosing a tool, contact us!

Comparison Chart

Endnote web

Endnote Desktop

RefWorks

Zotero

Mendeley

**Undergoing a major update starting Sept 7**

PROS

Available to anyone with a .edu email

Highly compatible with a lot of databases

Very powerful and customizable.

Can conduct advanced searches and draft citation reports through Web of Science.

Good for systematic reviews

Can have and back-up multiple Libraries

Looks for the full-text of records

Syncs with Endnote Online

Drag and drop PDFs from computer

Has a PowerPoint plugin

Great tech-support

Can create public links

Highly compatible with a lot of databases

Drag and drop PDFs from computer

Has a Google doc plugin

Can create subfolders

Open Access – available to anyone

Drag and drop PDFs from computer

Good at capturing non-traditional media like photos, music score, legal documents, etc

Captures screenshots of websites

Can create or join public groups

Open Access – available to anyone

Drag and drop PDFs from computer

Watch folders are helpful at keeping folders up-to-date

Has a Google doc plugin

Can create or join public groups

Has a scholarly networking site

CONS

Can only share with others who have an endnote account

Can’t drag/drop PDFs

No sub-groups

Can’t share PDFs

No Google Doc plugin

Can only share with others who have an endnote account

Steeper learning curve

Only online

Not compatible with Open Office/Libre

No tech support available only knowledge base and discussion forums

No google doc plugin

Only 300MB for stored files for free. Can add space for a cost

Can only have 2 private group of up to 3 members for free

Less storage space available for free

Cost

Free for Tulane users and those with a .edu email

Free for Tulane users

Free for Tulane users

Free with 300 MB of back-up storage ($ for additional space)

Free with 2GB of web space and 100 MB shared library space ($ for additional space and groups)

Alumni Access

After one year, will revert to free version features

Accessible once downloaded. May not be able to get latest version

With an alumni account

Type

Web-based

Desktop & syncs with web-version

Web-based

Web-based and Desktop

Web-based and Desktop

Online Storage Space

5GB

X

100MB

300 MB

2GB free

Ways to share groups

Private only. Users must have an endnote account

Private only. Users must have an endnote account

Public and private

Public and private

Public and private (One private group of 3 members free)

Organization tools other than folders/groups

Folders shared by others are separated

Smart groups, subgroups. Can share compressed libraries

Sub folders, tagging

Tags, smart searching

Watch folders, favorites, tagging

Word/Google Docs Integration

Works with Word, LateX, and Open Office

Works with Word, Powerpoint, LateX, and Open Office

Works with Word, and Google Docs

Works with Word, Open Office, LibreOffice, LaTeX and Google Docs

Works with Word, LibreOffice, and Open Office

Back-ups

X

Syncing with Endnote web acts as back-up. Also possible to save a copy or create a compressed file of library

Importing records – Plug-ins

“Capture reference”

“Capture reference”

“Save to RefWorks”

Plugin Extension

Plugin Extension

Create records from PDFs (drag and drop)

X

What kinds of records can you import and organize (PDFs, images, etc.)?

Best with articles, books, and other traditional media

Best with articles, books, and other traditional media

Articles and books

Books, articles, patents, legal documents, pictures, and webpages. Also stores PDFs, web screenshots, files, and images in records.

Web-page snapshots

Find Full Text attachments

X

X

X

Annotate PDFs

X

X

Accessible offline

X

Can export citation list for offline use

Number of Reference Types

50 + Customizable (ask a Librarian)

51 predefined + Options available through Endnote Desktop

38 + Customizable

20 + Customizable

Tech Support

Knowledge Base and message boards

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.