Comprehensive coverage of film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
An archival research resource containing the key periodicals for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK popular and trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, theatre and video games are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with individual indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Tulane has access to EIMA2 Cinema, Film, and Television (Part 1) and the coverage is from 1880-2000.
A comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts--drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more--searchable together for the first time in one electronic database. Former title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA).
This database contains over 400,000 article citations from more than 330 periodicals. It offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
This database contains credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world, encompassing features as well as short films, and actualities as well as fictional works.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
URL:
Covers Mexican Cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its “Golden Age” (1930s to 1960). Includes popular movie periodicals, film flyers, and scrapbooks. Access reviews, movie stills, programs, and advertisements.
A major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. Covers all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
Authoritative resource of American film information for the years 1893-1971. Produced in collaboration with the American Film Institute (AFI), it is compiled and updated by the AFI film experts.
The leading international index of journals, books, dissertations, and more on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
The Film Scripts Online Series (formerly American Film Scripts) contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Researchers can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.
Most scripts in the series have never been published before and are available nowhere else. Alexander Street developed the collection through arrangements with Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, StudioCanal, and Vintage Anchor; and the writers themselves, including Paul Schrader, Lawrence Kasdan, Gus Van Sant, Neil LaBute, Oliver Stone, and many others.
Contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
The Archives holds approximately 180 sepia prints of photographs taken by Archelaus “Chad” Chadwyck. These photographs depict movie sets that Chadwyck designed for the Wharton Studios. The studios were located in Ithaca in the 1920’s. While some of the images include actors, many document the artistry of the movie sets.
This database contains credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world, encompassing features as well as short films, and actualities as well as fictional works.
Includes a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, appendixes, black-&-white photos, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on actors, actresses, movies, producers, organizations, awards, film credits, and terminology.
The BioscopeThis blog was active from 2007-2012 and is no longer being updated. The Bioscope is dedicated to the subject of early and silent cinema. It covers news, publications, events, discoveries, documents, critical theory, filmmakers, performers, audiences and the technology of the silent era, embracing film production, distribution and exhibition, as well as ‘pre-cinema’, chronophotography, optical toys, and related media, across the world. There is an emphasis on research and scholarly discovery, but there should be as much here for the general enthusiast as for the specialist.
Media History Digital LibraryThis resource provides access to some of the earliest journalism related to cinema studies not available elsewhere.
The Vitaphone ProjectIn 1991 a group of film buffs and record collectors met to discuss the possibility of seeking out the shellac soundtrack discs that accompanied early 1926-1930 Vitaphone (and other) talkie shorts and features. The Vitaphone Project was formed to accomplish this goal as well as to partner with the studios (particularly Turner/WB), film archives (UCLA, LOC, BFI), and private collectors worldwide in order to get these films restored and seen again. Of particular interest were the nearly 2,000 talkie short subjects, featuring vaudevillians, bands, opera singers, and comedians made by Vitaphone from 1926-1929. In many cases 35mm picture elements exist without an accompanying soundtrack.
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and SciencesThe Margaret Herrick Library and the Academy Film Archive collect, preserve and restore movies and movie-related materials to help ensure the long-term accessibility of a wide range of historically significant items for research and public presentation. These two institutions, which have existed in one form or another almost since the founding of the Academy itself, serve as leaders within the larger motion picture research and preservation community.
American Film InstituteAFI is America's promise to preserve the history of the motion picture, to honor the artists and their work and to educate the next generation of storytellers. AFI provides leadership in film, television and digital media and is dedicated to initiatives that engage the past, the present and the future of the moving image arts.
Anthology Film ArchivesIn the decades since its founding, Anthology has grown far beyond its original concept to encompass film preservation; the formation of a reference library containing the world’s largest collection of books, periodicals, stills, and other paper materials related to avant-garde cinema; and a remarkably innovative and eclectic film exhibition program.
British Film InstituteIn our new library at BFI Southbank you can access a huge collection of books, journals, documents and audio recordings about the world of film and television. The library collection spans the history of cinema. Our priority is comprehensive coverage of moving image in Britain, but the collection is international in scope.
National Film Preservation FoundationThe National Film Preservation Foundation is the nonprofit organization created by the U.S. Congress to help save America's film heritage. We support activities nationwide that preserve American films and improve film access for study, education, and exhibition.
UCLA Film & Television ArchiveThe UCLA Film & Television Archive is the second largest moving image archive in the United States after the Library of Congress, and the world’s largest university-based media archive. Screenwriter-director Curtis Hanson (Eight Mile, L.A. Confidential) is the Archive's Honorary Chairman.
World Cinema FoundationThe World Cinema Foundation (WCF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving and restoring neglected films from around the world – in particular, those countries lacking the financial and technical ability to do so.
Association francaise de recherche sur l'histoire du cinemaAssociation sans but lucratif (loi de 1901), l’AFRHC rassemble la plupart des spécialistes français de l’histoire du cinéma, ainsi qu’un certain nombre de chercheurs étrangers.
Elle a non seulement pour objectif de réunir les historiens qui travaillent sur le cinéma, et de se constituer en lieu d’échange permanent pour débattre et faire connaître les nouvelles recherches en la matière, mais elle s’adresse aussi à tous ceux qui sont intéressés par l’histoire du cinéma.
Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA)AMIA is a non-profit professional association established to advance the field of moving image archiving by fostering cooperation among individuals and organizations concerned with the acquisition, description, preservation, exhibition and use of moving image materials.
Society for Cinema and Media StudiesThe Society for Cinema and Media Studies is the leading scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to promoting a broad understanding of film, television, and related media through research and teaching grounded in the contemporary humanities tradition.
This link opens in a new window
